Nishnawbe Aski Nation Election Slate Set

NAN Election

NAN ElectionTHUNDER BAY, ON: Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) Electoral Officer Larry Amos has received and approved nomination papers from the following persons for the position of Grand Chief (1) and Deputy Grand Chief (3) for the August 2015 election for the Executive Council of Nishnawbe Aski Nation:

Candidates for Grand Chief:

• Alvin Fiddler
• Les Louttit
• Harvey Yesno

Candidates for Deputy Grand Chief:

• Anna Betty Achneepineskum
• Darius Ferris
• Dave Flood
• Derek Fox
• Goyce Kakegamic
• Rex Knapaysweet
• Mike Metatawabin
• Walter Naveau
• Theresa Spence
• Terry Waboose

Chiefs and proxies from NAN’s 49 First Nations will vote for members of the Executive Council on August 12, 2015 during the XXXIV Keewaywin Conference in Aroland First Nation (August 11-13, 2015). Elections are held in accordance with the NAN Election Code, which states that a candidate must obtain 50 per cent plus one of the votes cast to be elected.

The official campaign period runs from July 14, 2015 to August 12, 2015

According to the NAN Election Code an eligible candidate must be:

1. A status Indian.
2. A member of a recognized NAN First Nation.
3. 18 years of age at the time of the election.

Information of the election process, Election Code, and any information provided by candidates including their biographies and campaign contact information will be available on the NAN election website at

NetNewsledger as a service to our readers and viewers is offering candidates video interview opportunities. Contact us at


Previous articleUpdate – Road Closures Thunder Bay
Next articleThe Staal Foundation Open is a Lot more than just a Great Golf Event or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862