Team Canada Hockey Team Announced

Team Canada announced - Mens Hockey Team will defend Gold Medal from Vancouver Olympics
Team Canada announced - Mens Hockey Team will defend Gold Medal from Vancouver Olympics

Men’s Olympic Hockey Team Defends Gold Medal

TORONTO – Hockey Canada, along with executive director Steve Yzerman (Nepean, Ont./Tampa Bay, NHL) and the members of Canada’s National Men’s Team management group, announced Tuesday the 25-player roster nominated to the Canadian Olympic Committee to represent Canada at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games, which take place Feb. 7-23 in Sochi, Russia.

Canada’s National Men’s Team management group is comprised of Yzerman, Hockey Canada president and CEO Bob Nicholson, Hockey Canada vice-president of hockey operations and national teams Brad Pascall, Doug Armstrong (Sarnia, Ont./St. Louis, NHL), Peter Chiarelli (Ottawa, Ont./Boston, NHL), Ken Holland (Vernon, B.C./Detroit, NHL) and Kevin Lowe (Lachute, Que./Edmonton, NHL).

The roster nominated for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games includes three goaltenders, eight defencemen and 14 forwards:

Goaltenders (3)         
Robert Luongo             Montreal, Que.              Vancouver (NHL)
Carey Price               Anahim Lake, B.C.         Montreal (NHL)
Mike Smith                Kingston, Ont.              Phoenix (NHL)

Defencemen (8)         
Jay Bouwmeester           Edmonton, Alta.             St. Louis (NHL)
Drew Doughty              London, Ont.                Los Angeles (NHL)
Dan Hamhuis               Smithers, B.C.              Vancouver (NHL)
Duncan Keith              Penticton, B.C.             Chicago (NHL)
Alex Pietrangelo          King City, Ont.             St. Louis (NHL)
PK Subban                 Toronto, Ont,               Montreal (NHL)
Marc-Édouard Vlasic       Montreal, Que.              San Jose (NHL)
Shea Weber                Sicamous, B.C.              Nashville (NHL)

Forwards (14)           
Jamie Benn                Victoria, B.C.              Dallas (NHL)
Patrice Bergeron          Sillery, Que.               Boston (NHL)
Jeff Carter               London, Ont.                Los Angeles (NHL)
Sidney Crosby             Cole Harbour, N.S.         Pittsburgh (NHL)
Matt Duchene              Haliburton, Ont.            Colorado (NHL)
Ryan Getzlaf              Regina, Sask.               Anaheim (NHL)
Chris Kunitz              Regina, Sask.               Pittsburgh (NHL)
Patrick Marleau           Aneroid, Sask.              San Jose (NHL)
Rick Nash                 Brampton, Ont.              NY Rangers (NHL)
Corey Perry               Peterborough, Ont.        Anaheim (NHL)
Patrick Sharp             Thunder Bay, Ont.          Chicago (NHL)
Steven Stamkos            Unionville, Ont.            Tampa Bay (NHL)
John Tavares              Oakville, Ont.              NY Islanders(NHL)
Jonathan Toews            Winnipeg, Man.             Winnipeg (NHL)

Previous articleThunder Bay – “Your cells said to me ‘Do you know who I am?” – Dr. Lai
Next articleThunder Bay Police Report Successful December or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862