NOSM University Board of Governors and OPSEU/SEFPO Local 677 (Unit 1) Ratify Three-Year Collective Agreement

Canada's first independent medical university proclaimed: NOSM University
Canada's first independent medical university proclaimed: NOSM University

THUNDER BAY – HEALTH – NOSM University and the NOSM University Faculty & Staff Association (NUFSA) represented by OPSEU/SEFPO Local 677 (Unit 1) are pleased to announce the ratification of their sixth collective agreement, covering full-time faculty, librarians, and professional staff at the University.

Both NUFSA’s members and NOSM University’s Board of Governors voted in favour of ratifying the new collective agreement on November 8, 2023.

On behalf of the NOSM University’s Board of Governors, Ms. Joy Warkentin, Chair, would like to thank the members of both negotiating teams for their hard work in reaching an agreement that will ultimately benefit learners and communities across the North. NOSM University and its Board of Governors look forward to the continuation of a strong professional and productive partnership with OPSEU/SEFPO Local 677, Unit 1 over the next three years and are appreciative of their members’ contributions to the University’s vision of Innovative Education and Research for a Healthier North.

Dr. Darrel Manitowabi, President of the bargaining unit negotiating the contract, appreciates the work of both negotiating teams coming to an agreement that prioritizes equity and upholds the quality medical education provided by the faculty, librarians and professional staff of NOSM University at a time when Northern communities need more doctors.

NOSM University Faculty and Staff Association (NUFSA) and OPSEU/SEFPO Local 677 President Nicole Bessette also expressed her appreciation for the support of NUFSA members, students, and the wider Northern community for equity and good working conditions that ensure the continued success of NOSM University as it grows and expands.

Formal negotiations began in June 2023, led by chief negotiators Mr. Garth O’Neill (NOSM University) and Dr. Simon Lees (OPSEU/SEFPO Local 677, Unit 1). The agreement covers three-years and is in effect from July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2026. It provides improvements to wages, benefits and various components of the collective agreement that represent mutual enhancements of the workplace and are in line with the university sector in Canada.

Previous articleHealth Update: St. Joseph’s Hospital Faces COVID-19 Outbreak in Specialized Unit
Next articleKenora Snowmobile Club Receives Funding Boost for Extended Winter Season