Thunder Bay City Council Overview for May 11 2020 Meeting

788
Thunder Bay City Hall
Thunder Bay City Hall

Neighbour Day and Backyard Chickens Top Agenda Items

THUNDER BAY – Thunder Bay City Council will meet on Monday night.

There are two items on the agenda for Council:

Annual Neighbour Day

Memorandum from Mr. P. Burke, Sport & Community Development Supervisor, dated April 29, 2020, containing a motion recommending that Administration proceed with plans to deliver a Neighbour Day campaign in 2020 and that $6,000 allocated for the Street Event Grant in 2020 Operating Budget be reallocated to cover Neighbour Day expenses.

Pending the passage of the resolution relative to the above-noted at the Committee of the Whole meeting, to be held earlier in the evening, the resolution will be presented for ratification and under Council’s policy will require a two-thirds vote.

With respect to this memorandum from Paul Burke, Sport & Community Development Supervisor dated April 29, 2020, we recommend that Administration proceed with plans to deliver a Neighbour Day campaign in 2020;

AND THAT $6,000 allocated for the Street Event Grant in the 2020 Operating Budget be reallocated to cover Neighbour Day expenses;
AND THAT Administration report back during the 2021 budget process with plans for 2021 Neighbour Day activities;
AND THAT any necessary by-laws be presented to City Council for ratification.

Next Item:

Allowance for Backyard Chickens

Chickens

Memorandum from Councillor S. Ch’ng, dated April 27, 2020, containing a motion recommending that Administration report back on what work would need to be completed to bring amendments forward relative to drafting a proposed amendment to the Zoning By-law and the Official Plan to allow for backyard chickens.

Pending the passage of the resolution at the Committee of the Whole meeting, the resolution will be presented for ratification at the City Council meeting to be held later in the evening and will require a two-thirds vote.

With respect to the work associated with the drafting of a proposed amendment to the Zoning By-law and the Official Plan to allow for backyard chickens, we recommend that Administration report back on what work would need to be completed to bring amendments forward;

AND THAT the report include a breakdown of any financial impacts as well as considerations that apply under the Planning Act as per the current State of Emergency;

AND THAT the report be received on or before July 20, 2020;
AND THAT any necessary by-laws be presented to City Council for ratification.


 

If you have viewpoints or ideas on these issues, or other issues, you are encouraged to contact the Mayor or City Council:

Mayor Bill Mauro

Office: (807) 625-3600
Email: bmauro@thunderbay.ca

Councillors at Large:

Mark Bentz

Cell: (807) 628-6910
Email: mbentz@thunderbay.ca

Peng You

Residence: (807) 768-0827
Cell: (807) 628-4305
Email: pengyou@thunderbay.ca

Aldo Ruberto

Cell: (807) 628-5547
Email: aruberto@thunderbay.ca

Trevor Giertuga

Cell: (807) 628-4790
Email: tgiertuga@thunderbay.ca

Rebecca Johnson

Residence: (807) 577-2807
Fax: (807) 577-4837
Email: rjohnson@thunderbay.ca

Ward Councillors:

Brian Hamilton – McKellar Ward

Cell: (807) 251-2551
Email: bhamilton@thunderbay.ca

Brian McKinnon – Red River Ward

Residence: (807) 767-3945
Email: bmckinnon@thunderbay.ca

Cody Fraser – Neebing Ward

Cell: (807) 633-3846
Email: cfraser@thunderbay.ca

Shelby Ch’ng – Northwood Ward

Cell: (807) 708-1983
Email: schng@thunderbay.ca

Albert Aiello – McIntyre Ward

Cell: (807) 629-7531
Email: aaiello@thunderbay.ca

Andrew Foulds – Current River

Residence: (807) 766-9914
Email: afoulds@thunderbay.ca

Kristen Oliver – Westfort Ward

ell: (807) 627-2036
Email: koliver@thunderbay.ca