Chair and Vice Chair Determined at Lakehead District Board Annual Meeting

Education - Image Deposit Photos

Thunder Bay – NEWS – The Lakehead District School Board has met for the first time since the election as a new board.

Trustee Ellen Chambers has been acclaimed as Chair of the Lakehead District School Board at this evening’s Annual Meeting of the Lakehead District School Board. Trustee George Saarinen was acclaimed as Vice Chair of the Lakehead District School Board.

New Trustees Sue Doughty-Smith and Ryan Sitch joined the returning Trustees in taking the oath of office.

Other Board positions determined at the meeting include:

Member of the Coordinating Committee
Trustee Sue Doughty-Smith

Coordinating Committee Alternate
Trustee Trudy Tuchenhagen

During the Annual Meeting, the following committees presented their annual reports to the Board:

• Aboriginal Education Advisory Committee
• Special Education Advisory Committee
• Parent Involvement Committee
• Thunder Bay Public Library Board

The 2017-18 Director’s Annual Report was also presented to the Board at this evening’s Annual Meeting. The report provides an update on the progress and key actions utilized in meeting the goals and objectives of this year’s Strategic Plan. The report can be viewed on the Lakehead Public Schools website at:…/Directors_Annual_Report.pdf

Previous articleThunder Bay Police issue Egan Street Incident Update
Next articleMayor Bill Mauro and New Council Take Office or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862