Northwestern Ontario Election Overview – NDP 3, PC 1, Liberals 1

Election Day

THUNDER BAY – Paint Ontario PC Blue. The Ford Nation rallied and elected a major majority government for the Progressive Conservatives. The Liberal Party has lost official party standing, and Kathleen Wynne has resigned as party leader. The New Democrats have doubled their seats in the Ontario Legislature. The political landscape in Ontario has shifted to the right.

In Thunder Bay, Bill Mauro went down to defeat to Judith Monteith Farrell by 81 votes, maintaining the tradition of tight races. Michael Gravelle won his seat by 819 votes over Lise Vaugeois. Greg Rickford handily won in Kenora Rainy River. In Kiiwetinoong, the New Democratic Party candidate Sol Mamakwa won the seat.

Premier-Designate Doug Ford told supporters last night that “help is here”, and that “Ontario is open for business” as he promised Ontario would rise to new levels of prosperity never seen before.

NDP leader Andrea Horwath says that the party is ready to fight for the people and to keep working for “Change for the better” which the new leader of the Official Opposition says is “more than a campaign slogan.

Thunder Bay Atikokan was the nail-biter race of the province last night. At one point as the polls came in the margin was a mere five votes.



Previous articleNew Anishinabek Grand Council Chief – Glen Hare
Next articleElection Results will make First Nations Stronger – UOI Grand Council Chief or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but we are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862