SIJHL Announces Finalists for Individual Awards

SIJHL Hockey

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Friday the finalists for its respective individual awards that are presently available for the 2016-17 season.

The determination process saw each SIJHL member organization submit names of those eligible, from their own team, as nominees for the various awards.

From those submissions, the clubs then cast votes in each category to determine the finalists.

Out of these finalists, the winner of each individual honour will be announced over the course of the coming days leading up to the conclusion of the 2017 SIJHL Bill Salonen Cup playoffs.

Listed below are the nominees for the 2016-17 SIJHL awards with the candidates listed alphabetically in order of their team.

Mallon’s Corporate Impressions/Play It Again Sports Most Valuable Player        
Braeden Alkins, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Jared Virtanen, Fort Frances Lakers
Nicholas Nigro, Thunder Bay North Stars

CCM Hockey Best Defenceman      
Tristan Knott, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Trevor Pereverzoff, English River Miners
Ryan Walsh, Thunder Bay North Stars

Top Goaltender  
Patrick Zubick, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Michael Lenko, English River Miners
Ryan Buttazzoni, Thief River Falls Norskies

CCM Hockey Rookie of the Year
Eric Stout, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Michal Di Lullo, English River Miners
Connor Smith, Thief River Falls Norskies

Best Defensive Forward
Nic Noseworthy, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Jared Virtanen, Fort Frances Lakers
Brett Wolframe, Thunder Bay North Stars

Most Improved Player     
Braedyn Aubin, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Dante Tisi, English River Miners
Brad Thrower, Thunder Bay North Stars

Most Sportsmanlike Player
Jacen Bracko, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Dylan Kooner, Fort Frances Lakers
Brad Thrower, Thunder Bay North Stars

Coach of the Year
Kurt Walsten, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
Cole Workman, Thief River Falls Norskies
Jeremy Adduono, Thunder Bay North Stars

Regular Season Winner   
Dryden GM Ice Dogs* (*-Clinched first place overall and the No. 1 seed in upcoming Bill Salonen Cup playoffs)

The following SIJHL awards will be determined, announced and awarded at a future date:

The CCM Hockey first and second all-star teams; top regular season scorer (Most points); RBC Jr. ‘A’ Scholarship; the CCM Gary Cook Memorial Award; the CCM Most Valuable Playoff Performer and the SIJHL Bill Salonen Cup playoff champion.

Previous articleConfederation College Thunderhawks Head to OCAA Championships
Next articlePostpartum Depression a Ticking Time Bomb to Defuse or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862.