Fort Frances Lakers President Milt Strachan Honoured with Gary Cook Memorial Award

Robbie Bonthron, No. 24, of the Fort Frances Lakers celebrates a first period goal in the win over the Dryden GM Ice Dogs - Photo credit: Tim Bates/OJHL Images
Photo credit: Tim Bates/OJHL Images

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League has announced that Fort Frances Lakers team president Milt Strachan has been named the latest recipient of the prestigious CCM – Gary Cook Memorial Award.

This distinguished honour is presented annually by the SIJHL to an individual in recognition for their efforts, commitment and contributions to their respective team and/or the league.

“The SIJHL congratulates Milt Strachan in winning this award for his accomplishments and leadership with the Fort Frances Lakers,” said SIJHL Commissioner Bryan Graham.

Strachan heads up the Lakers’ organization that has won three consecutive Bill Salonen Cup championships as well as a trio of league regular season crowns while leading the SIJHL in attendance.

He also played a pivotal role in Fort Frances’ efforts in hosting a highly successful Dudley-Hewitt Cup Central Canada Jr. A championship in 2015 that set a new attendance record.

Strachan will be presented his CCM Gary Cook Memorial Award at the Lakers’ regular season home opener against the expansion Thief River Falls Norskies on Friday, Sept. 23 at Ice for Kids Arena.

The CCM – Gary Cook Memorial Award is presented annually by the SIJHL in honour of the late hockey icon who was recognized for over five decades of hockey-related service to the community of Thunder Bay.

An honoured member of the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame, Mr. Cook was the ultimate hockey executive who boasted a resume of championship clubs that was second to none in hockey circles around North America.

Among his many accomplishments as a general manager and executive with multiple Thunder Bay-based franchises were a record five Allan Cup Canadian senior hockey championships, three Colonial Hockey League crowns, a CHL executive of the year award, a trio of SIJHL Bill Salonen Cup titles and a Dudley-Hewitt Cup trophy all the while earning the admiration and respect of the many, many people he was associated with over the years.

The following are the all-time CCM – Gary Cook Executive of the Year Memorial Award recipients:

2015-16: Milt Strachan, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Ron Whitehead, Former SIJHL President/Commissioner
2013-14: Mike Ebbeling, CKDR Radio Dryden
2012-13: Trevor Hosanna, Hockey Northwestern Ontario
2011-12: Malcolm Robertson, Dryden Ice Dogs
2010-11: Rod Aldoff, Wisconsin Wilderness
2009-10: Ted Lake, Dryden Ice Dogs
2008-09: Doug Lawrance, Sioux Lookout Flyers
2007-08: Carolyn/Scott Kellaway, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres

Previous articleCLE 2016 Thrills the Youth
Next articleThunder Bay Police Seek Missing Teenage Male or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862.