Thunderhawk Take Bronze in College Curling Championships


THUNDER BAY, ON  – SPORTS – The Confederation College Thunderhawks Women’s Team took home a bronze medal today as the 2016 Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) Provincial Curling Championships wrapped up at the Port Arthur Curling Club. Hosted by the Confederation College Thunderhawks, the event began February 11th and saw 20 teams compete from across the province in Men’s, Women’s and Mixed divisions.

“We were pleased to run a successful championship event,” said Susan Tucker, Administrator, Campus Recreation & Athletics for the College’s Student Union (SUCCI). “All of the athletes had impressive

showings and demonstrated great sportsmanship. We are proud of our Thunderhawks athletes in particular, for representing our College very well and are thrilled to see our Women’s team earn the bronze.”

Medals were presented during a closing ceremony after the final game on Sunday. Winners for each category are as follows:

Men’s Division

  1. Gold – Fanshawe Falcons
  2. Silver – Sault Cougars
  3. Bronze – Humber Hawks

 Women’s Division

  1. Gold – Seneca Sting
  2. Silver – Fanshawe Falcons
  3. Bronze – Confederation Thunderhawks
    • Team members: Megan St. Amand (Skip), Carly Angers (Vice), Amanda Danolovitch (Second) and Katherine Roberts (Lead)

 Mixed Division

  1. Gold – Fanshawe Falcons
  2. Silver – Sault Cougars
  3. Bronze – Humber Hawks

The winning teams will go on to compete at the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) championship games, hosted by the Fanshawe College Falcons in London, Ontario March 23-26, 2016.

“We wish all of the teams the best of luck in the national competition,” said Cole Badiuk, Director of Athletics for SUCCI. “And of course, we’ll be cheering for our Thunderhawks to go all the way.” Badiuk added in wrap-up to the event that “We also want to make sure we thank all of the sponsors, volunteers, athletes, coaches and supporters for helping to make this a memorable experience for all involved.”

Fair Play Awards were also presented to one team from each division in recognition of their sportsmanship as voted by their peers. Confederation College took home both the Ron Fearon Fair Play Award for the Men’s division and the Hap Holman Fair Play Award for the Mixed division, while the Fleming Knights received the Vern Dow Fair Play Award for the Women’s division.

All-Star Awards were presented to athletes in each position on a team. They were ranked by their peers into first, second and third. The first-place All-Stars for each division and position are as follows:

Men’s All-Star 1st Team

  1. Lead – Matt Pretty, Fanshawe Falcons
  2. Second – Kyle Sherlock, Sault Cougars
  3. Vice – Josh Vanderburg, Sault Cougars
  4. Skip – Kelly Schuh, Fanshawe Falcons

Women’s All-Star 1st Team

  1. Lead – Kim Headley, Seneca Sting
  2. Second – Sara Westman, Fanshawe Falcons
  3. Vice – Carly Angers, Confederation Thunderhawks
  4. Skip – Megan St. Amand, Confederation Thunderhawks

Mixed All-Star 1st Team

  1. Lead – Janelle Shapton, Fanshawe Falcons
  2. Second – Paige Fursman, Mohawk Mountaineers
  3. Vice – Emmanuel Yaldo, St. Clair Saints
  4. Skip – Courtney Jackson, St. Clair Saints

Jordan Thin of the Niagara Knights was awarded with Coach of the Year, as voted by his coach peers. This is his first year coaching the men’s and women’s teams.

For full competition details and final scores, visit

Previous articleBombardier Wins German Design Award
Next articleHayward hat trick leads Sportop Queens to win in JWHL Challenge Cup