Heroes of Our Time Scholarship Deadline Nears

DFC High School
High School Graduates at Dennis Franklin Cromarty High School

Assembly of First NationsTHUNDER BAY – Since 1988/1989 the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) has sponsored the Heroes of Our Time scholarships to recognize the hard work, dedication and academic achievements of First Nations post-secondary students who demonstrate excellence in a variety of categories. The scholarships are divided into eight categories that represent eight First Nations heroes and academic disciplines, each with a value of $2,000. The scholarships are made possible through the sponsorship of the RBC Foundation.

The Heroes of Our Time scholarships provide an excellent opportunity for the AFN to acknowledge and celebrate the success of First Nations students in achieving their educational goals. It gives us great satisfaction to know that we are helping those who hold the future of First Nations in their hands.

The deadline for submitting applications to the Heroes of Our Time scholarship will be March 1, 2015. Applications must include a completed application form, 1,500 word essay, official transcript, two (2) reference letters, and proof of First Nations ancestry. 

The essay should outline why you should receive the Heroes of Our Time scholarship. Be sure to include reasons why you chose your field of study, various accomplishments, future career plans, interests, volunteer and community work with any First Nations community or organization.

It is strongly encouraged that the letters of reference are included in your application package to ensure they arrive on time. Please include names and contact information for your two references as well.

Applicants are only eligible for one category. Applications with more than one category selected will be considered ineligible.

Only official transcripts will be accepted. No photocopies or faxed copies. Only official transcripts will be accepted. No photocopies or faxed copies. All application packages can be sent to:

HOOT Scholarship Awards Selection Committee
Assembly of First Nations
55 Metcalfe St., Suite 1600
Ottawa, ON K1P 6L5

OR they can be faxed to (613) 241-5808. Official transcripts must still be mailed.

Previous articleOntario Chiefs Support National MMIW Led by First Nations
Next articleGuardian Angels Thunder Bay Set to Go February 13 2015
NetNewsledger.com or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: newsroom@netnewsledger.com Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862