Superior EMS Paramedics Recognized by GG

Superior EMS
Superior EMS working across the region
Superior EMS
Superior EMS working across the region

THUNDER BAY – Three Superior North EMS paramedics have received Exemplary Service Medals from the Governor General of Canada. The Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal expresses national gratitude for long and commendable service, particularly in fields of endeavour involving potential personal risk. The medals were presented to the paramedics by Major General Richard Rohmer, Canada’s most decorated person, at a special ceremony in York Region, Ontario, on September 26, 2013.

“These paramedics have contributed to our communities through their efforts at excellent patient care, and by having added impact to the provision of quality patient care of their colleagues”, said Norm Gale, Chief of EMS. “Their efforts have been formally recognized on a national level, and we are proud of their contribution to the public”, Gale added.

Receiving the medal:

Robert Corbeil, Primary Care Paramedic (PCP), Thunder Bay. Robert has provided almost three decades of excellent front-line patient care. Robert contributed to society through his volunteerism activities, notably with Habitat for Humanity. Robert is also a registered nurse and has served in the Canadian Armed Forces.

Paula Verin, PCP, Marathon. Paula started her career as a paramedic more than 20 years ago, providing excellent and compassionate patient care to residents in Marathon and elsewhere. Additionally, Paula trains seasoned and recruit paramedics, and has played a key role in the development of Superior North EMS’ 5 year strategic plan.

Ernie Kadikoff, Deputy Chief, Thunder Bay. A veteran paramedic who has had successive leadership positions in EMS. Early in his career, Ernie devoted countless volunteer hours providing coverage in Red Rock and Nipigon. He has served in the air ambulance system as well. Ernie provides key operational leadership to Superior North EMS’ district operations.

The medal is part of Canada’s official awards system that tangibly reflects national gratitude for long and outstanding service. The requirements for consideration include more than 20 years of service, with at least 10 of those years requiring front-line service involving some personal risk. The recipient is also required to show that they have had some sort of positive impact or contribution to their community.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Previous articlePremier Wynne – I take full responsibility and offer a full apology
Next articleChoose – Save the World or Do Nothing or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862