A letter from John Rafferty MP Thunder Bay Rainy River


John Rafferty MPTHUNDER BAY – Leaders Ledger – A letter from John Rafferty MP Thunder Bay Rainy River:

Dear Friends and Neighbours,

The recent torrential rains and subsequent flooding of Thunder Bay and surrounding areas including Oliver Paipoonge, Neebing, Conmee, and the Fort William First Nation is a very serious and tragic event in our region’s long and proud history.

My heart goes out to all whose lives have been affected by this event, but I want you to know that your governments – municipal, provincial, and federal – are working together to assist you during this crisis and once the recovery begins.

I would also like to express my immense gratitude to the numerous friends, neighbours, and volunteers in our community who have risen to the occasion to lend a hand to those in need. Your actions are a testament to the pride and courage of our entire community.

Under the Disaster Financial Assistance Agreement, the Government of Ontario must formally request federal assistance for disaster relief. This past Tuesday in Question Period I received assurances from the Public Safety Minister that; “The Government of Canada stands ready to assist should we be requested to do so.” If a request from the provincial government has been made or is forthcoming, then you should know that the federal government will be providing assistance.

I wish to reaffirm my deepest sympathies to those who have been directly and indirectly affected by this crisis, as well as my gratitude for those who are selflessly offering assistance to those in need. We Northerners are a resilient people, and together I am certain we will get through this.


John Rafferty, MP. (Thunder Bay – Rainy River)