Lakehead Region Conservation Authority AGM Held


THUNDER BAY – The Lakehead Region Conservation Authority (LRCA) welcomed the return of its Chair and Vice-Chair at its Annual General Meeting. Bill Bartley of the City of Thunder Bay was re-elected as Chairman, and Donna Blunt of the Municipality of Shuniah was re-elected as Vice-Chair.

There were no other changes made to the LRCA Board.

The LRCA Board is comprised of eleven representatives from its eight Member Municipalities. The LRCA Area of Jurisdiction covers 2600 square kilometres and encompasses the Townships of Conmee, Dorion, Gillies and O’Connor; the Municipalities of Neebing, Oliver Paipoonge and Shuniah; as well as the City of Thunder Bay.

The Board is responsible for making policy, budget and regulatory decisions regarding the Authority’s watershed management activities.

The Lakehead Region Conservation Authority is a community-based environmental agency. We are responsible for the wise management of renewable natural resources in our watershed. Conservation Authorities undertake a broad range of programs, including: flood control; flood plain management; wetland protection; erosion control; reforestation; conservation lands; and conservation education.

The Authority is responsible for the administration of Ontario Regulation 180/06 which regulates development in areas where the control of flooding, erosion, pollution or the conservation of land may be affected by development.

For more information visit

Previous articleBuild It Now, Ask Questions Later – It is a chronic complaint in Thunder Bay
Next articleThe Sixties Scoop was a continuation of the assimilation policies – Waboose or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862