Graduates Head into World Well Prepared

Expect Change

THUNDER BAY – “We welcome convocation as a time when students, families, friends, faculty members and support staff can celebrate the long years of hard work that have led to this triumphant day,” said Dr. Moira McPherson, Acting Vice-President Academic & Provost. “Lakehead students are well-prepared to apply the knowledge, skills, and abilities that they have developed during their studies as they embark on their careers. We are proud of our Alumni and will be honouring some of them at this year’s Alumni Awards dinner.”

University Registrar Brenda Winter notes that the number of degrees and diplomas for Thunder Bay and Orillia campuses this year totals about 2600.

Four honorary degrees will be conferred this year. In Thunder Bay on Friday, an honorary Doctor of Science will be conferred upon Dr. Tom Brzustowski, president of NSERC from 1995 to 2005 and an esteemed Canadian academic. The next morning, an honorary Doctor of Laws will be conferred upon The Honourable William G. Davis, who served as premier of Ontario from 1971 to 1985. In the afternoon, an honorary Doctor of Science will be conferred on Dr. Ronald K. O’Dor, chief scientist of marine life and lead scientist for the Ocean Tracking Network, and a respected Canadian scientist. A week later in Orillia, an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters will be conferred on J.A.“Pete” McGarvey, journalist, broadcaster, and politician as Orillia campus graduands receive their degrees.

Other people being honoured this year include Lakehead University Professor Emeritus of Forestry, Dr. John Naysmith, a world-recognized forester, who will be made a Fellow of Lakehead University on Friday, May 27, and Paul Weber, past campaign chair for Lakehead University – Orillia Your Bright Future fundraising campaign, will be presented with the 2011 Lakehead University Orillia Campus Civitas Award on Saturday, June 4.

As well, four outstanding alumni will be recognized during Convocation ceremonies in Thunder Bay: Michael Power, Vice President, Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre, and Shy-Anne Hovorka, singer, songwriter, and musician, will both receive a Young Alumni Award, and Steven Ashton, Manitoba Provincial Cabinet Minister, and David Shannon, human rights activist and lawyer, will both receive an Alumni Honour Award.

Alumni awardees are being honoured at the annual Lakehead University Alumni Awards Dinner on the evening of May 25, 2011, where the Alumni Volunteer of the Year Award is being presented to Vonnie Cheng, Investment Advisor.

Graduates and their family and friends in Thunder Bay are invited to attend LUSU’s Graduate Reception in The Outpost on Saturday, May 28, starting at 5:00 pm.

Previous articleGet Stretched at the Superior Yoga Fest
Next articleProgressive Conservative Convention Coverage or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862