McGuinty Shuffles the Deck on his Cabinet


QUEEN’S PARK – Dalton McGuinty has announced changes to his Cabinet and government. The move comes after a summer where critics have panned the McGuinty government over repeated flip-flops on policy issues, and out and out blunders by the government.

The Premier’s website states, “To ensure that the new Cabinet stays focused on delivering results in those areas, the Premier has formed a new Priorities and Planning Committee of Cabinet and directed it to devote its attention to core government priorities. The new committee will steer the government’s Open Ontario Plan by focusing on measurable improvements, including economic growth, higher test scores in our schools, lower wait times in our emergency rooms and better access to doctors and nurses”.

There are no changes impacting either Minister Michael Gravelle or Thunder Bay Akikokan MPP Bill Mauro.

The changes to Cabinet announced today will see six ministers in new responsibilities and two new Cabinet members:

Jim Bradley becomes Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services. In his new role, Jim will work with Ontario’s police services and correctional facilities as they work diligently to keep our families safe and our communities secure.

Rick Bartolucci becomes Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing. Rick’s responsibility will be to ensure that all Ontario communities — rural and urban — continue to benefit as Ontario’s economy recovers. In particular, he will help ensure that affordable housing continues to be available for those who need it.

Sophia Aggelonitis becomes Minister of Revenue and Minister Responsible for Seniors. As Minister of Revenue, she will help the government continue to roll out its tax reform package, which economists estimate will help create 600,000 new jobs over the next 10 years. As Minister Responsible for Seniors, she will ensure that Ontario’s seniors continue to get the services they need to lead active and healthy lives.

John Wilkinson becomes Minister of the Environment. John will focus on the ministry’s effort to help build a clean economy in Ontario. The ministry will continue to make progress in the protection of our air and water.

John Gerretsen becomes Minister of Consumer Services. In that role, he will work to strengthen consumer protections for Ontario families and exercise regulatory oversight to ensure industries are operating in the public interest.

Bob Chiarelli joins Cabinet as Minister of Infrastructure. He will continue to drive Ontario’s stimulus efforts as the Province continues to improve our roads, schools, sewers and bridges — supporting hundreds of thousands of jobs in the short-term, and building a strong backbone for Ontario’s economy in the long-term. Brad Duguid remains Minister of Energy.

Glen Murray becomes Minister of Research and Innovation, and will continue to help drive Ontario’s plan to support new Ontario ideas and turn those ideas into good Ontario jobs. In particular, Glen will be driving forward the government’s plan to create jobs by developing clean water technology.

The Priorities and Planning Committee consists of the following members:

  • Premier Dalton McGuinty (Chair)
  • Dwight Duncan, Minister of Finance
  • Michael Gravelle, Minister of Northern Development, Mines and Forestry
  • Sandra Pupatello, Minister of Economic Development and Trade
  • Chris Bentley, Attorney General and Minister of Aboriginal Affairs
  • Kathleen Wynne, Minister of Transportation
  • Deb Matthews, Minister of Health and Long-Term Care
  • Leona Dombrowsky, Minister of Education
Previous articleMcGuinty Energy Plan to Aid Large Industrial Companies
Next article“Dalton McGuinty is out-of-gas” – Hudak or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862