Keewaywin Awards Recognize Leadership and Accomplishments of NAN Members

Keewaywin Awards Recognize Leadership and Accomplishments of NAN Members

KINGFISHER LAKE FIRST NATION – Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) Grand Chief Alvin Fiddler, on behalf of the NAN Executive Council, congratulates recipients of the 2019 Keewaywin Awards for their outstanding accomplishments and contributions to our Nation.

“On behalf of the Chiefs and Councils of NAN I am honoured to congratulate this year’s Keewaywin Awards recipients for their outstanding achievements and commitment to improving the lives of our people and strengthening our communities,” said NAN Grand Chief Alvin Fiddler. “Their accomplishments are the result of hard work and dedication, and the leadership they demonstrate on a daily basis is an inspiration to us all.”

Award recipients include:

  • Judy Desmoulin, Long Lake #58 – Emile Nakogee Award for Outstanding Leadership
  • Ralph Bekintis, Sandy Lake First Nation – NAN Elder Award
  • Brenda Kakegamic, North Spirit Lake First Nation – NAN Woman Award
  • Brayden Kakapetum, Sandy Lake First Nation – NAN Youth Leadership/Community Involvement Award
  • Tristan Quisses, Neskantanga First Nation – NAN Youth Academic Award
  • Shawnda Mamakwa, Kingfisher Lake First Nation – NAN Youth Cultural Award
  • Martha Loon, Mishkeegogamang First Nation – NAN Staff Award
  • Kingfisher Lake First Nation – NAN Host Community Award

Recipients were honoured at a banquet last night during the XXXVIII Keewaywin Conference, held July 16-18 in Kingfisher Lake First Nation.

Previous articleNew Canadian Ranger Sworn in at Annual NAN Chief’s Conference
Next articleDryden – Thunderstorm Warning – July 18/19 or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but we are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862