Northwestern Ontario Restricted Fire Zone – August 18, 2018

Ontario Parks restricts access in Woodland Caribou Provincial Park

THUNDER BAY – Conditions in the woodlands across Northwestern Ontario are tinder dry. These conditions have led to the declaration of a restricted fire zone being declared.

RFZ-Thunder Bayarea Boundaries by on Scribd

Included in the Restricted Fire Zone are:

· Kenora District
· Fort Frances District
· Dryden District
· Portions of the Thunder Bay, Red Lake, and Sioux Lookout Districts.

Not included in the Restricted Fire Zone are:
· City of Thunder Bay
The organized municipalities of:
· Neebing,
· Gillies,
· O’Connor
· Oliver/Paipoonge,
· Shuniah
· Dorion
The unincorporated areas of:
· Pass Lake
· Sleeping Giant Provincial Park

Residents outside the Restricted Fire Zone are urged to check with your municipal fire department for local burning restrictions.