Lakehead University Celebrates Athletic Accomplishments

Lakehead University Women's Basketball Tearm - Photo by Kristin Loretta Wynn
Lakehead University Women's Basketball Tearm - Photo by Kristin Loretta Wynn

Lakehead Thunderwolves and Brock Badgers in women's basketball action (Photo Credit Brock Athletics)
Lakehead Thunderwolves and Brock Badgers in women’s basketball action (Photo Credit Brock Athletics)

THUNDER BAY – SPORTS – Lakehead Athletics announced their annual award winners in grand fashion on Saturday at the Patterson Auditorium, with a fun-filled gala event paying tribute to the accomplishments of the 2013-14 season.

Danielle Thiel (Regina, Sask.) of the Cross Country Running and Indoor Track teams was named the Female Athlete of the Year, while Andrew Wilkins (Pickering, Ont.), captain of the hockey team, was declared the Male Athlete of the Year.

Thiel, a 4th year senior, has continued her stellar career as a runner for Lakehead, continuing to break school records in the 2013-14 season. She currently holds the Lakehead record for the 3000m and 5000m on the indoor track, and was an All-Canadian in cross country running.

Andrew Wilkins, a 5th year senior, led the hockey team’s power play and penalty kill units this season, and guided them within one game of the University Cup tournament. Wilkins finished this season second on the team in scoring (11Gs, 28 Asts), and ranks 16th all-time on the Thunderwolves’ scoring list. Wilkins was also the recipient of The Argus award, as determined by the student newspaper’s sports editor.

The Female Rookie of the Year is Jennifer Jackson (Midhurst, Ont.), who in her freshman year captured the national individual title, in addition to being an OUA all-star and All-Canadian.

Male Rookie of the Year honors went to Cody Alcock (Oshawa, Ont.) of the men’s hockey program, who was tied for 2nd in team scoring this year and was on the OUA West All-Rookie team.

Other major awards recipients included women’s volleyball player Nicole Vercaigne, who was honored for her commitment to athletics, academics and the community with the Hank Akervall award.

A full list of awards winners follows below.

Major Awards

Male Athlete of the Year – Andrew Wilkins
Female Athlete of the Year – Danielle Thiel

Male Freshman of the Year – Cody Alcock (Hockey)
Female Freshman of the Year – Jennifer Jackson (Nordic Skiing)

Hank Akervall Award – Nicole Vercaigne (Women’s Volleyball)

Argus Award – Andrew Wilkins

Individual Team Awards

Men’s Hockey

Rookie of the Year – Cody Alcock
Best Offensive Player – Mike Hammond
Best Work Ethic – Kelin Ainsworth
Best Defensive Player – Jeff Bosche
Most Valuable Player – Andrew Wilkins

Women’s Basketball

Rookie of the Year – Katelyn Andrea
Most Improved Player – Essa Jacobsen
Best Defensive Player – Ayse Kalkan
Amanda Nesbitt Award – Ayse Kalkan
Most Valuable Player – Jylisa Williams

Men’s Wrestling

Rookie of the Year – Chris Waltner
Most Improved Wrestler – Tyler Ashurst
Most Outstanding Wrestler – Chris Waltner

Women’s Wrestling

Rookie of the Year – Amber Martin
Most Improved Wrestler – Kira White
Most Outstanding Wrestler – Emma Horner

Frank Schaller Award – Kelsey Dayler

Cross Country Running

Most Valuable Runner (Female) – Danielle Thiel
Most Valuable Runner (Male) – Dominique Aulagnon

Indoor Track and Field

Most Valuable Athlete (Female) – Danielle Thiel
Most Valuable Athlete (Male) – Mason Quarrell

Erron Williams Memorial Spirit Award – Chris Brown

Women’s Volleyball

Rookie of the Year – Kailan Robinson
Coach’s Award – Jorie Daymond and Sarah Reid
Corrine Kollman Award – Breanne Hilhorst
Most Improved Player – Stephanie Chartrand
Most Valuable Player – Jasmine Fox

Women’s Nordic Skiing

Rookie of the Year – Erin Tribe
Most Valuable Skier – Alannah MacLean

Men’s Nordic Skiing

Rookie of the Year – Sean Carter
Most Valuable Skier – Greg Kilroy

Nordic Skiing Sports Person of the Year – Leif Lennie

Men’s Basketball

Rookie of the Year – Henry Tan
Most Improved Player – Alex Robichaud
Best Defensive Player – Dwayne Harvey
Most Valuable Player – Dwayne Harvey

Previous articleQueens Top Dryden in Winnipeg Tourney
Next articleThunder Bay – More Snow for Monday? Ouch!
Hugh Mullally is the Sports Information Director at Lakehead University. Hugh shares, "In the field of athletics, I aspire to continue developing my public profile as a source for sports information with my current employer, with a little bit of entertainment mixed in with my live game commentary and my weekly radio show that features athletes and coaches from Lakehead University".