SIJHL Action – Gordy Defiel of the Minnesota Wilderness top goalie


Minnesota WildernessTHUNDER BAY, Ont. – SIJHL Action – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Thursday that Gordy Defiel of the Minnesota Wilderness has been named the recipient of the SIJHL’s top goaltender award for the 2012-13 regular season.

He bested fellow nominees Eric Szymczyk of the Dryden Ice Dogs and Chase Hollander of the Minnesota Iron Rangers to earn the accolades.

The native of Stillwater, Minn., who turned 20 in January, had a remarkable campaign for the Wilderness posting a 25-1-2 record while leading all SIJHL netminders in wins (25), goals-against average (1.39), save percentage (.945) and shutouts. (8)

Defiel’s GAA and save mark also set SIJHL single season records in each category.

Of note, his numbers not only paced the SIJHL, but he also led all puckstoppers in the entire 127-team Canadian Junior Hockey League in both average and save percentage while also tying for top spot overall in shutouts.

This marks the third straight season a Wilderness goalkeeper has won the award joining John McLean in 2010-11 and Tanner Milliron in 2011-12. 

The following is the list of the all-time SIJHL top goaltender award recipients:

2012-13: Gordy Defiel, Minnesota Wilderness
2011-12: Tanner Milliron, Wisconsin Wilderness (Wisconsin-River Falls, NCHA)
2010-11: John McLean, Wisconsin Wilderness (Gustavus Adolphus, MIAC)
2009-10: Jameson Shortreed, Fort Frances Lakers (Canada West, WJAC)
2008-09: Ryan Faragher, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres (St. Cloud State, WCHA)
2007-08: Drew Strandberg, Thunder Bay Bulldogs (Wisconsin-Superior, NCHA)
2006-07: Kyle Cantlon, Marathon Renegades (Nipissing, OUA)
2005-06: Carter Hutton, Fort William North Stars (Rockford, AHL/UMass Lowell, Hockey East)
2004-05: Viktor Saari, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Daniel Beardy, Fort William North Stars
2002-03: Dan Hoehne, Borderland Thunder 
2001-02: Rob Hrabec, Borderland Thunder (Minot State-Bottineau)

Previous articleFriends of Chippewa Park AGM
Next articleTaxes Increases from Conservatives – John Rafferty MP or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862