SIJHL Rookie of the Year Jake Larson

SIJHL League Leading Minnesota Wilderness set to go against Thunder Bay North Stars
SIJHL League Leading Minnesota Wilderness set to go against Thunder Bay North Stars

SIJHLTHUNDER BAY, Ont. – Jake Larson of the Minnesota Wilderness has been named the SIJHL rookie of the year for the 2012-13 campaign. The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced that Larson earned the accolades over fellow rookie of the year finalists Mathias Gardiman of the Thunder Bay North Stars, and Nick Le Sage of the Minnesota Iron Rangers.

SIJHL Rookie of the Year

The St. Michael’s, Minn., native, who turned 19 last month, led all SIJHL skaters in goals this season with 44 and also finished second overall in league offensive production with 72 points.

Larson ended the regular season riding an impressive 19-game point streak, which included 17 tallies.

The Wilderness forward also only accumulated 10 minutes in penalties in season play, which was the lowest total of any player among the top 15 point producers in the league.

The following are the SIJHL’s all-time best defensive forward recipients:

2012-13: Jake Larson, Minnesota Wilderness
2011-12: Jordan Larson, Fort Frances Lakers
2010-11: Austin Adduono, Wisconsin Wilderness
2009-10: Jameson Shortreed, Fort Frances Lakers
2008-09: Jay Pelletier, Fort William North Stars
2007-08: Mitch Cain, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres
2006-07: Kale Kerbashian, Fort William North Stars
2005-06: Dustin Fummerton, Fort William North Stars
2004-05: Andrew Fernandez, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Cody Mosbeck, Dryden Ice Dogs
2002-03: Jamie Silverson, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2001-02: Kevin Webb, Borderland Thunder

Previous articleSt. Lawrence Seaway Open for Season
Next articleLakehead University skiers off to great start or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862