New NAN Grand Chief Yesno Elected at XXXI Keewayin Chiefs Conference

Swearing in Nan Grand Chief Yesno

Swearing in Nan Grand Chief YesnoKASHWECHEWAN – The ballots for Nishnawbe-Aski Nation elections have been counted. The new Grand Chief for NAN is Harvey Yesno. Grand Chief Yesno was elected on the third ballot with a one vote win over Terry Waboose.
Chiefs and proxies from Nishnawbe Aski Nation’s (NAN) 49 First Nation communities elected Yesno who is from the Eabametoong First Nation, as Grand Chief this afternoon during the XXXI Keewaywin Chiefs Conference in Kashechewan First Nation.

Yesno was elected along with three Deputy Grand Chiefs who are responsible for specific portfolios at NAN including education, health, justice, and governance. Elected as Deputy Grand Chief are:

1. Alvin Fiddler of Muskrat Dam First Nation
2. Goyce Kakegamic of Keewaywin First Nation
3. Les Louttit of Fort Albany First Nation

The new NAN Executive Council was sworn into office immediately. The Keewaywin
Conference continues on Thursday, August 16, in Kashechewan under the direction of the new Executive Council.