RoseAnne Archibald Selected as New Ontario Regional Chief

Chiefs lining up to select the Ontario Regional Chief
Chiefs lining up to select the Ontario Regional Chief

Chiefs lining up to select the Ontario Regional Chief
Chiefs lining up to select the Ontario Regional Chief
NIPPISSING FN – RoseAnne Archibald has been elected as the new Ontario Regional Chief.

Here is a statement she has shared:

Ninanaskamon for the well wishes and congratulatory remarks everyone. Last night our team and supporters had dinner to look back on how we got here, together.
It’s the morning after and I’m so grateful and honoured that the Chiefs in Ontario have selected me as Ontario Regional Chief.

I wanted to thank and acknowledge so many people and will add to this post as I recall all the people who helped me on this journey.

First and foremost to all the Chiefs who stood behind me. Miigwetch to my nominator Chief Duncan Malcolm Michano and Chief Wayne Moonias for seconding my nomination.

I had an amazing team who continually held in their hearts, love for our people and who maintained a positive uplifting campaign in sometimes challenging circumstances:

Tania Cameron, Darrell Boissoneau, Evelyn Baxter Harty, Robin Bee, Andy Rickard, Marsha Smoke, Lance Copegog, Christine M Simard-Chicago, Cece S Ross, Morris Naveau, Bob Archibald.

Family and friends played a big role in my success, and they include: Gloria Archibald, Bruce Dan Archibald, Scott W W Sawyer, Kara Larone, Diane Michano-Richmond, Sandra Brown, Donna Diamond

A number of elders provided advice and guidance: our campaign elder Morris, Phyllis Shaugabay, Barney Batise, Angela Shisheesh, Annie Metatawabin, Teri Redsky Fiddler.

Youth who gave their energy and support to our campaign, include Lance Copegog, Miranda Chookomolin, Wynona Ryder, Randall C Crowe, Clyde Brandon Silas Moonias, Rachel Archibald, Will Landon, Carol Brianne.

Many many women leaders came forward with support, advice/guidance and encouragement (too many to list, but here are a few: Lorraine Crane, Abigail Wesley, Delores Kakegamik, Rebecca Friday, Brenda Fox, BK Ess, Theresa Sutherland, Theresa Spence, Priscilla Simard and other individuals on the Treaty 3 Women’s Council, Georjann Morriseau, Janice Henderson, Anita Stephens, Jo-Anne Wesley, Ellen Vontane Keno, Trudence Anderson, Dinah Kanate, Anna Achneepineskum
I assure everyone that I’ll continue to be guided by a deep and abiding love for all Chiefs and Councils and their citizens/people in Ontario. There’s a lot of work on the road ahead to build positive and respectful relationships with everyone who I meet on this part of my leadership journey.
Ninanaskamon! Kisahkeetin!

Ontario Regional Chief RoseAnne Archibald

Previous articleForest Fire Situation Update Northwest Region June 28, 2018
Next articlePatrick Cheecho Steps Down as Native Women’s Association of Canada Director or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but we are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862