Jylisa Williams the OUA Player of the Year

Lakehead University Thunderwolf Jylisa Williams raised the bar once more
Lakehead University Thunderwolf Jylisa Williams raised the bar once more
Lakehead University Thunderwolf Jylisa Williams raised the bar once more
Lakehead University Thunderwolf Jylisa Williams raised the bar once more

THUNDER BAY – SPORTS – The OUA announced their major award winners for women’s basketball on Wednesday.

It came as no surprise that Lakehead ‘s record breaking shooting guard Jylisa Williams was unanimously voted as the OUA’s Player of the Year. As such she is also a first-team all-star for the second year in a row.

This season Williams averaged an OUA and CIS leading 28.8 points per game, set a new OUA single-season points record with 548, and broke the OUA single-game points record when she scored 50 against the Toronto Varsity Blues on Feb. 6.

Along with her prolific scoring, Williams was a valuable contributor in all aspects of the game, leading the conference with 4.0 steals per game, finished second averaging 9.3 rebounds, and seventh in assists per game with 3.4. Her play was also a primary reason the Thunderwolves had so much team success, finishing the season ranked ninth in the CIS Top 10 with a 14-5 record.

Coach Jon Kreiner:

“I am so proud of all that Jylisa has accomplished this year. She has elevated our team to national calibre status and has done that with an all-around game. Jylisa is a true leader, she makes my job easy. She pushes her teammates and they respond by working harder. Jylisa has been multidimensional for us, she can score in many ways but she is also our best defender and rebounder. She is always a great passer with a great IQ who can read a defence and make the right play. The greatest thing about Jylisa is that as good as she has been, she is extremely unselfish and humble.”

OUA Major Award Winners

Player of the Year: Jylisa Williams – Lakehead Thunderwolves

Defensive Player of the Year: Korissa Williams – Windsor Lancers

Rookie of the Year: Bridget Atkinson – Guelph Gryphons

Joy Bellinger Award: Lee Anna Osei – Laurier Golden Hawks

Tracy McLeod Award: Kellie Ring – Ottawa Gee-Gees

Coach of the Year: Chantal Vallee – Windsor Lancers

OUA First-Team All-Stars

Jylisa Williams – Lakehead Thunderwolves

Korissa Williams – Windsor Lancers

Whitney Ellenor – Laurier Golden Hawks

Danielle Boiago – McMaster Marauders

Keneca Pingue-Giles – Ryerson Rams

Jill Stratton – Toronto Varsity Blues

Stephanie MacDonald – Ottawa Gee-Gees

Katherine MacTavish – Guelph Gryphons

Jenny Wright – Queen’s Gaels

Cheyanne Roger – Windsor Lancers

OUA Second-Team All-Stars

Lindsay Shotbolt – Carleton Ravens

Clare Kenney – McMaster Marauders

Mariah Nunes – Ryerson Rams

Liz Boag – Queen’s Gaels

Krista Van Slingerland – Ottawa Gee-Gees

Lee Anna Osei – Laurier Golden Hawks

Caroline Wolynski – Western Mustangs

Bridget Atkinson – Guelph Gryphons

Jocelyn Larocque – Windsor Lancers

Hilary Hanaka – McMaster Marauders

OUA All-Rookie Team

Bridget Atkinson – Guelph Gryphons

Hilary Hanaka – McMaster Marauders

Melissa Tatti – Brock Badgers

Sofia Paska – Ryerson Rams

Maddy Horst – Western Mustangs

Amy Jarvis – Waterloo Warriors

Cara Tiemens – Ryerson Rams

Carly Steer – Windsor Lancers

Elizabeth Leblanc – Carleton Ravens

Linnaea Harper – McMaster Marauders

Previous articleBaseball – Getting Started in Umpiring
Next articleLakehead Thunderwolves Women’s Basketball on the Road to Windsor
Hugh Mullally is the Sports Information Director at Lakehead University. Hugh shares, "In the field of athletics, I aspire to continue developing my public profile as a source for sports information with my current employer, with a little bit of entertainment mixed in with my live game commentary and my weekly radio show that features athletes and coaches from Lakehead University".