Lakehead University Announces New Board Chair and Vice Chair

Lakehead University

Lakehead UniversityTHUNDER BAY – EDUCATION – Lakehead University’s Board of Governors welcomed its new Chair and Vice-Chair, as well as one new member, at its October 3, 2014 Annual General Meeting (AGM). The AGM also marked the final year of service for several members of the Board.

The University’s Board of Governors passed a motion in April 2014 that Murray Walberg would assume the role of Chair at its 2014 AGM. Walberg joined the Board of Governors in 2010 and has been Vice-Chair since 2012.

“I am very pleased to continue my commitment to Lakehead University, an institution that has been critical to the prosperity of our community and Northwestern Ontario for fifty years,” said Murray Walberg. “As its new Chair, I look forward to working with our members to further the implementation of our 2013-2018 Strategic Plan.”

Outgoing Chair Cameron Clark joined the University’s Board of Governors in June 2009, assuming the roles of Vice-Chair in 2010 and Chair in 2012.

“I’m very proud of the achievements of this Board, which have always been dependent on its strong membership,” said Clark, who will remain as a member of the Board. “I would like to thank the entire Board for its dedication to our University and for the invaluable contributions of our outgoing members, to whom I wish all the best in their future ventures.”

Board member David Tamblyn assumed the role of Vice-Chair at the October 3 AGM. Tamblyn has been a member of the Board since 2010.

Newly elected members of the Board include Maria Phipps and Ross Murray.

Board members Paul Capon, David Heroux, Robert Perrier, and Frances Picherack were renewed for additional terms.

For more information about Lakehead University’s Board of Governors, including its meeting schedule, by-laws, and member biographies, please visit


Colin Bruce (member, 2007-2104; Chair of Board of Governors, 2010-2012)
Andy Crooks (member, 2007-2014)
Eric Zakrewski (member, 2010-2014)
Christine Gottardo (member 2009-2011, and 2013-2014)
Daniel Bacsa (student representative member, 2012-2014)

Previous articleSisters in Spirit Vigils – October 4 2014
Next articleKidde Recalls Residential Smoke Alarms and Combination Smoke/CO alarms or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862