Bulls Win Round One at PBR Event

The Bulls were winning over the Cowboys at the PBR Event in New Mexico on Friday Night.
The Bulls were winning over the Cowboys at the PBR Event in New Mexico on Friday Night.
The Bulls were winning over the Cowboys at the PBR Event in New Mexico on Friday Night.
The Bulls were winning over the Cowboys at the PBR Event in New Mexico on Friday Night.

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. ― The bulls took Round 1 of the Professional Bull Riders Ty Murray Invitational, presented by Sandia Resort & Casino, as only five of the 36 riders made qualified 8-second rides on Friday night.

Not since late January at the Built Ford Tough Series Oklahoma City event, when only nine men earned scores in Round 1, have so few riders made the buzzer in a round this year.

Silvano Alves shot out from the chutes aboard Red Man (5S Ranch) and picked up 87 points for the first qualified ride of the night. Four riders later,Douglas Duncan matched Alves’ effort with an 87-point score on Cowboy’s Dancehall Blonde Bomber (Currey Creek Bucking Bulls & Cattle Co.).

Keith Ryan Cartwright speaks with Douglas Duncan, who is tied for the lead at the 2014 PBR BFTS Ty Murray Invitational through Round 1 in Albuquerque, N.M.

Alves and Duncan are the co-leaders of the event after Round 1.

As the night progressed, Billy Robinson finally broke the streak of bucked off bull riders when he took Celling Bioscience’s Jukebox Hero (Koben Puckett/Clint Hooser) to the 8-second mark for 86 points and third place.

Rounding out the Top 5, which encompassed all the qualified rides of the night, were Kasey Hayes (85.75 points) and Eduardo Aparecido (76.50).

Round 2 of the Ty Murray Invitational will take place Saturday at 7:50 p.m. CBS Sports Network will carry all the coverage starting at 11 p.m. ET.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

Albuquerque is the 12th stop of 27 on the 2014 PBR Built Ford Tough Series schedule. The season kicked off Jan. 3-5 at Madison Square Garden in New York and will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 22-26 when the 2014 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who earns the most points during the 2014 season, will receive the coveted World Championship belt buckle and a $1 million bonus.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Ty Murray Invitational
The Pit in Albuquerque, N.M.
Event Leaders (Round 1-Event Points)

1. Douglas Duncan, 87-87.00 points.
(tie). Silvano Alves, 87-87.00 points.
3. Billy Robinson, 86-86.00 points.
4. Kasey Hayes, 85.75-85.75 points.
5. Eduardo Aparecido, 76.5-76.50 points.
Ben Jones, 0-0.00 points.
Brady Sims, 0-0.00 points.
Brant Atwood, 0-0.00 points.
Chase Outlaw, 0-0.00 points.
Cody Nance, 0-0.00 points.
David Scott Mason, 0-0.00 points.
Emilio Resende, 0-0.00 points.
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0.00 points.
Gage Gay, 0-0.00 points.
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0.00 points.
Guytin Tsosie, 0-0.00 points.
Harve Stewart, 0-0.00 points.
Jason Malone, 0-0.00 points.
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0.00 points.
Jordan Hupp, 0-0.00 points.
Jory Markiss, 0-0.00 points.
Josh Birks, 0-0.00 points.
Justin Robards, 0-0.00 points.
L.J. Jenkins, 0-0.00 points.
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0.00 points.
Marco Eguchi, 0-0.00 points.
Markus Mariluch, 0-0.00 points.
Matt Triplett, 0-0.00 points.
Renato Nunes, 0-0.00 points.
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0.00 points.
Sean Willingham, 0-0.00 points.
Stormy Wing, 0-0.00 points.
Tanner Byrne, 0-0.00 points.
Ty Pozzobon, 0-0.00 points.
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0.00 points.
Zane Lambert, 0-0.00 points.

Previous articleFootloose with Kevin Bacon Dances The Tonight Show
Next articleBusy Day for Thunder Bay Police
NetNewsledger.com or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: newsroom@netnewsledger.com. Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862.