SIJHL Partners with CCM Hockey

Thunder Bay North Stars Ready for the Fort Frances Lakers
Thunder Bay North Stars Ready for the Fort Frances Lakers

SIJHLTHUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League has announced that they have partnered with CCM Hockey to incorporate the inaugural first and second SIJHL all-star team awards commencing with the 2013-14 season.

The iconic hockey brand is also coming on board to support two prestigious league honours, in both the Gary Cook Memorial Award for SIJHL executive of the year as well as the league’s rookie of the year.

SIJHL and CCM Form Partnership
CCM Hockey will recognize the accomplishments of those members of the SIJHL who are deemed to have earned a place on either the league’s first or second all-star squads for their efforts during the course of the 2013-14 campaign.

A trio of forwards, a pair of defencemen, a goaltender, head coach, general manager and trainer or equipment manager will be honoured for each of the all-star sides.

This will mark the first time in the 13-year history of the SIJHL that year-end all-star teams will be awarded.

Meanwhile the Gary Cook Memorial honour will presented by annually by CCM and the SIJHL in tribute to the late hockey icon in recognition of his five decades of hockey-related service to the region, including building a trio of SIJHL clubs that captured Bill Salonen Cup titles along with a Dudley-Hewitt Cup Central Region Jr. A championship.
An honoured member of the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame Mr. Cook was the ultimate hockey executive who boasted a resume of championship clubs that was second to none in hockey circles around North America.

The CCM rookie of the year will go to the top first-year player in the league, 18 years of age or under at the start of the season.

“We sincerely thank CCM Hockey for their commitment and support of the SIJHL to help identify the exceptional accomplishments of our league players and staffs as well as in helping further honour the memory of Gary Cook while also promoting our league’s top rookie,” stated SIJHL President/Commissioner Ron Whitehead.

“On behalf of CCM, we welcome the opportunity to partner with the SIJHL on their first-ever all-star teams as well as the rookie of the year and the Gary Cook Memorial Award,” offered Gary Linquist, Reebok/CCM Senior Manager – Sports Marketing.

“It is a privilege and tremendous honour for CCM to further assist in recognizing a true hockey giant in Gary Cook,” added Linquist.  

Enhanced by Zemanta
Previous articleWISSOTA Racing Zooms in Emo
Next articleGraphene Research – A Hyper Fast Internet or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862.