SIJHL announces award finalists


SIJHLTHUNDER BAY – Sports – The SIJHL has announced the finalists for the respective individual awards for the year. The Thunder Bay North Stars return to the Fort William Gardens ice tonight at 7:30PM. The North Stars are set to go

The determination process saw each SIJHL member organization submit names of those eligible, from their own team, as nominees for the various awards. From those submissions, the clubs then cast votes in each category to decide the finalists.

SIJHL Finalists announced

Out of these finalists, the winner of each individual honour will be announced over the course of the coming weeks leading up to the conclusion of the 2013 SIJHL playoffs.

The nominees for the 2011-12 SIJHL awards are listed below.

The candidates are listed alphabetically in order of their team; Dryden Ice Dogs; Fort Frances Lakers; Minnesota Iron Rangers; Minnesota Wilderness; Thunder Bay North Stars.

Pizza Hut Player of the Year/Most Valuable Player        
Chris Belhumeur, Dryden Ice Dogs                
Jordan Christianson, Fort Frances Lakers            
Mike Dietrich, Minnesota Wilderness

Best Defenceman                    
Len Pelletier, Dryden Ice Dogs                 
Nick Le Sage, Minnesota Iron Rangers             
Nick McCormack, Minnesota Wilderness

Top Goaltender                        
Eric Szymczyk, Dryden Ice Dogs                
Chase Hollander, Minnesota Iron Rangers            
Gordy Defiel, Minnesota Wilderness

Rookie of the Year
Nick Le Sage, Minnesota Iron Rangers
Jake Larson, Minnesota Wilderness
Mathias Gardiman, Thunder Bay North Stars

Best Defensive Forward
Paul Thompson, Dryden Ice Dogs
Merritt Rysavy, Fort Frances Lakers
Jeremy Johnson, Minnesota Wilderness

Most Improved Player                    
Chris Sitko, Dryden Ice Dogs                
Colton Spicer, Fort Frances Lakers                
Conrad Sampair, Minnesota Wilderness

Most Sportsmanlike Player
Tyson Holder, Dryden Ice Dogs
Jacob Nolan, Fort Frances Lakers
Brian Drapluk, Minnesota Wilderness

Coach of the Year
Wayne Strachan, Fort Frances Lakers
Chris Walby, Minnesota Iron Rangers
Rod Aldoff, Minnesota Wilderness

Previous articleProrogation bill changes rules – Sarah Campbell
Next articleMining on the mind of Minister Tony Clement or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862