Eight candidates in running for AFN National Chief


Assembly of First NationsOTTAWA – The list of candidates for the position of National Chief for the Assembly of First Nations is out. There are eight candidates seeking the office. The incumbent National Chief is Shawn Atleo.

The Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, responsible for the July election of the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) National Chief, has received nomination papers in proper form from the following persons, listed below in alphabetical order:

  1. Mr. Shawn Atleo
  2. Mr. Bill Erasmus
  3. Ms. Ellen Gabriel
  4. Ms. Joan Jack
  5. Ms. Diane M. Kelly
  6. Mr. Terrance Nelson
  7. Ms. Pamela Palmater
  8. Mr. George Stanley


According to the AFN Charter, an eligible candidate must:

  • Be eighteen (18) years of age or older;
  • Be of First Nation ancestry;
  • Be a member of First Nation community, in good standing with the AFN; and,
  • Have 15 eligible electors, First Nations Chiefs, endorse his/her candidacy.


The 2012 Election for the Office of AFN National Chief will take place July 18, 2012 during the AFN 33rd Annual General Assembly taking place at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre in Toronto, Ontario, July 17-19, 2012.  

The AFN Charter article 22 states that the National Chief shall be elected by a majority of sixty (60) per cent of the votes. There are 633 First Nation communities in Canada that are recognized as members of the Assembly of First Nations.

The Assembly of First Nations is the national organization representing First Nation citizens in Canada.  

Below is the campaign contact information for each candidate.

Mr. Shawn Atleo
PO Box 45082
Surrey, BC  V4A 9L1
Website: www.shawnatleo.com
PH:    855.742.9612
FX:      866.210.2064
Email:  info@shawnatleo.com
Mr. Bill Erasmus
Box 2101 100 Ndilo, Sikyea
Tidi, NT  X1A 2P6
Website: www.votebille.com
Email:  support@votebille.com
PH:  867.444.8847 (Barrett Lenoir)
Ms. Ellen Gabriel
PO Box 4056
Kanehsata:ke, QC, J0N 1E0
PH: 450.479.1651
Cel: 514.730.2314
Email:  katsitsakwas1@hotmail.com
Ms. Joan Jack
Box 346
Berens River, MB  R0B 0A0
PH:   204.382.3150
CEL: 204.479.3004
Email: joanjack.nc@gmail.com
Mr. Terrance Nelson
PO Box 346
Letellier, MB  R0G 1C0
PH:  204.859.0021
Email:  terrancenelson74@gmail.com
Ms. Diane M. Kelly
81 Canberra Rd
Winnipeg, MB  R2J 1W3
PH: 204.797.7126
Email:  diane.m.kelly@hotmail.com
Ms. Pamela Palmater
64 Crawford Dr.
Ajax, ON  L15 3A8
PH:     905.239.5564
CEL:    905.903.5563
Website:  www.pampalmater.com
Mr. George Stanley
Box 629
Frog Lake, AB T0A 1M0
PH:  306-441-3720
Email: jorgestanley7@gmail.com
Email: albertangus@sasktel.net
Previous articleIt is a sure sign that the emergency is over and that the recovery efforts successful
Next articleThunder Bay Police find 16-year-old
NetNewsledger.com or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: newsroom@netnewsledger.com Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862