Confederation College Hosts Campus Rec and Varsity Athletic Awards


Confederation College ThunderhawksTHUNDER BAY – Sports – The Student Union of Confederation College (SUCCI) wrapped up its Campus Recreation & Varsity Athletic programs tonight in Ryan Hall at the annual Awards Banquet.

Athletes and recreation participants were acknowledged for their victories, accomplishments and outstanding performances over the past year.

Rookie Thunderhawks indoor soccer player, Sarah Lalonde, was crowned this year’s Female Athlete of the Year. Sarah hails from Milton, ON and is enrolled in the Dental Hygiene program. Lalonde is also the Women’s Indoor Soccer team MVP and a recipient of the OCAA All-Academic Award. Her commitment to the team and sport is a testament of her true athletic spirit and dedication.

Veteran Thunderhawks curler, Phil Kennedy was presented this year’s Male Athlete of the Year award. Kennedy, a Thunder Bay native is graduating from the Environmental Technology program. Phil is the Men’s Curling team MVP, chosen as a member of the OCAA Men’s Curling Championship 1st Team All-Star and recipient of the OCAA
All-Academic Award. Kennedy demonstrated athletic prowess and commitment to college athletics makes him the natural choice for recipient of this award.

Varsity & Athletic Team MVPs were awarded to:

• Ryan Krasnichuk Golf
• Sarah Lalonde Women’s Indoor Soccer
• Patrick Mauro Men’s Indoor Soccer
• Edward Paibomsai Cross Country Running
• Phil Kennedy Men’s Curling
• Kristi-Ann Taylor Women’s Curling

The Thunderhawks Women’s Hockey team MVP award went to team Captain, Amber Butler.

Ontario Colleges Athletic Association’s All Academic Awards were given out to Justin Peters, Sherard Eno, Amanda Dool, Alexa Metselaar, Katie-Lee Samas, Kelsey Crego, Sarah Lalonde, Riley Saunders, Kyle Toset, Phil Kennedy, Phil Tribe, Nathan LaBrie and Trevor Desmoulin.

Katie Aprin, graduating from Business Marketing & SUCCI’s Director of Athletics, was chosen as this year’s D.A.R. Bradshaw Athletic Achievement Award recipient. This award is present to a graduating student, having the most improvement in and contribution to athletics and whose quality of spirit and competitive drive contributed to the overall success of our college athletic program. Arpin has been a dedicated Indoor Soccer athlete representing our college during her years at Confederation. Katie is also a great supporter/participant of our Campus Recreation program. Arpin, voted by her peers, will be taking the reigns as President of SUCCI as of May 1st.

The Dean Ryan Activities Award was presented to Alexa Metselaar. Metselaar is the SUCCI Director of Residential Life and has made great contributions to the Campus Recreation & Varsity Athletics programs this year. This award is awarded to a Confederation College student who demonstrates outstanding leadership qualities through involvement in Intramural Recreation and extramural activities throughout the Fall & Winter semesters. Alexa, hails from Tillsonburg, ON and is graduating from the Tourism & Travel Eco Superior program.

Jeff Belanger, from Brantford, ON was awarded this year’s Intramural Male Person of the Year award. Jeff has been a dedicated Co-Campus Recreation Team Representatives
(The Expendables) and participant during his two years at Confederation. He led his team to become this year’s Overall Campus Rec Champions.

Dryden native, Deanna Parker was presented with the Intramural Female Person of the Year award. Parker stepped up to the plate this year and took on a very active role in our Campus Recreation program. She was instrumental in our successful bid to become the Most Active College in Ontario for the fall 2011 semester.

SUCCI would like to Thank TBayTel for their generous corporate sponsorship towards Varsity Athletics at Confederation College for the 2011-12 season.

Previous articleQuality Market Sets out to Serve the North With New Online Grocery Store
Next articleCrimebeat – Thunder Bay Police Take Down more Drug Dealers or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862