New Democrats Unveil Shadow Cabinet


Andrea HorwathQUEEN’S PARK – NDP Leader Andrea Horwath unveiled the NDP shadow cabinet today. “I have assembled a new NDP shadow cabinet that will bring new energy and a wealth of expertise from inside and outside the Legislature,” said Horwath. “The new shadow cabinet includes MPPs from all parts of Ontario and with backgrounds as diverse as law, business, dairy farming, social work, hospitality, teaching, nursing, trade union activism and the volunteer sector”.

“Each one of our critics will provide the level of scrutiny required to hold the new minority Liberal government to account. At the same time, my team will work constructively with all parties to deliver on people’s priorities,” added Horwath. Horwath said her team would waste no time getting to work immediately.

“New Democrats are rolling up our sleeves and getting to work,” said Horwath. “Families can count on our team to stand up for jobs, affordability and health care as the Legislature resumes.”

NDP shadow cabinet

Andrea Horwath (Hamilton-Centre) – Leader, Intergovernmental Affairs

Teresa Armstrong (London-Fanshawe) – Training Colleges & Universities, Seniors

Gilles Bisson (Timmins-James Bay) – Transportation

Sarah Campbell (Kenora-Rainy River) – Natural Resources, Aboriginal Affairs

Cheri DiNovo (Parkdale–High Park) – Community and Social Services, Women’s Issues

Cindy Forster (Welland) – Municipal Affairs and Housing

France Gélinas (Nickel Belt) – Health and Long Term Care, Francophone Affairs

Mike Mantha (Algoma-Manitoulin) – Northern Development and Mines

Rosario Marchese (Trinity-Spadina) – Economic Development & Innovation, GTA issues

Paul Miller (Hamilton East–Stoney Creek) – Sport, Tourism and Culture, Government Services

Taras Natyshak (Essex) – Labour, Community Safety and Correctional Services, Infrastructure

Michael Prue (Beaches–East York) – Finance, Citizenship and Immigration

Jonah Schein (Davenport) – Environment, Urban Transportation

Jagmeet Singh (Bramalea-Gore-Malton) – Attorney General, Consumer Services

Peter Tabuns (Toronto–Danforth) – Energy, Education

Monique Taylor (Hamilton Mountain) – Children and Youth Services

John Vanthof (Timiskaming-Cochrane) – Agriculture, Food & Rural Affairs

Previous articleWould Be Mac’s Mart Robber Arrested
Next article“Let’s hit the re-set button on this job killing act” – Fedeli or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862