New Ontario Cabinet – Gravelle out at Northern Development and Mines – in at Natural Resources


Ontario VotesTHUNDER BAY – “I’m pleased to announce that, tomorrow, we’ll be swearing-in our new Ontario Liberal Cabinet,” says Dalton McGuinty, Ontario’s Premier. “It’s an experienced Cabinet that will guide Ontario through global uncertainty by focusing on building a strong Ontario economy”

Thunder Bay Superior North MPP Michael Gravelle is the new Minister of Natural Resources, in the new cabinet. Gravelle’s former post as Minister of Northern Development and Mines has been given to Rick Bartolucci, the MPP from Sudbury.

That move may signal that hopes for Thunder Bay to gain a chromite proccessor will not have the support of the new Minister responsible for mines. As the former Sudbury Deputy Mayor, Bartolucci is likely to favour his hometown.

“I could not be more proud of the experienced, focused leaders who make up our Cabinet. In fact, all our ministers in the new 22-member cabinet — down from 28 —have previously held cabinet positions,” concluded McGuinty.

Here is the New Ontario Cabinet:

Dalton McGuinty: Premier, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
Jim Bradley: Minister of the Environment
Rick Bartolucci: Minister of Northern Development and Mines, Chair of Cabinet
Dwight Duncan: Minister of Finance, Deputy Premier
John Gerretsen: Attorney General
Chris Bentley: Minister of Energy
Madeleine Meilleur: Minister of Community Safety & Correctional Services, Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs
Harinder Takhar: Minister of Government Services
Kathleen Wynne: Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs
Michael Chan: Minister of Tourism and Culture
Michael Gravelle: Minister of Natural Resources
Brad Duguid: Minister of Economic Development and Innovation
Deb Matthews: Minister of Health and Long Term Care
John Milloy: Minister of Community and Social Services, Government House Leader
Margarett Best: Minister of Consumer Services
Laurel Broten: Minister of Education, Minister of Women’s Issues
Linda Jeffrey: Minister of Labour, Minister Responsible for Seniors
Eric Hoskins: Minister of Children and Youth Services
Glen Murray: Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities
Bob Chiarelli: Minister of Transportation, Minister of Infrastructure
Charles Sousa: Minister of Citizenship and Immigration
Ted McMeekin: Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Previous articleLocal Hypnotherapist Serves Up Some Chicken Soup for the Soul
Next articleFar too soon to judge the new Chief or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862