Solid Day of Wrestling Action


THUNDER BAY – The second day of wrestling at the 2011 CIS wrestling championships concluded with Alberta winning the women’s championship banner, while Concordia came out on top on the men’s side.

Highlights included Gen Haley of Calgary making history as the first female student-athlete to win 5 consecutive gold medals in 5 years. The conclusion of the day – the men’s heavyweight match- was the deciding factor in the men’s championship, as David Zilberman defeated Charles Thoms of UNB to give Concordia a total of 55 to UNB’s 52.

Lakehead’s men’s team finished in 9th place, while the women finished in 4th. Top Thunderwolves were Nicole Plummer (82 kg) and Gaston Tardif (57 kg), who each won silver. Colten Woznow captured the bronze in the 90 kg division, as did Dustin Helwig in the 54 kg.

In terms of the special awards:

Rookie of the Year:

Male- Steven Takahashi (Western)

Female- Jade Papke (Guelph)

R.W. Pugh Fair Play Award:

Female – Diana Ford (Brock)

Male- Jason Wass (Alberta) and Connor Malloy (Regina)

Outstanding Wrestler (MVP):

Female – Gen Haley (Calgary)

Male- Vincent Cormier (Concordia)

Coach of the Year:

Male- Victor Zilberman (Concordia)

Female -Owen Dawkins (Alberta)

Community Service Award:

Female- Jasmine Mian (Brock)

Male – Kevin MacLelan (McMaster)

Final Points Standings:


Alberta 47

Calgary 45

Brock 44

Lakehead 27

U Sask 26

Western 25

Concordia 24

Guelph 22

MUN 12

UNB 10

Regina 8

McMaster 5


Concordia 55

UNB 52

Regina 49

U Sask 41

Guelph 34

Western 29

McMaster 29

Alberta 26

Lakehead 25

Brock 20

Calgary 18

U of T 11

Men’s Gold Medal matches (winner defeated loser):

Steven Takahashi (Western) def. Gilbert Musonza (Regina) -54 kg

David Tremblay (Concordia) def. Gaston Tardif (Lakehead)– 57 kg

Vince Cormier (UNB) def. Kirk Ackerman (Regina)– 61 kg

Ilya Abelev (Western) def. Cory Horsburgh (Regina)– 65 kg

Shawn Daye- Finley (UNB) def. Mario Pereira (Concordia)– 68 kg

Ryan Myrfield (U Sask) def. Ryan Blake (McMaster)– 72 kg

Connor Malloy (Regina) def. Jake Jagas (Guelph)- 76 kg

Daniel Olver (U Sask) def. Kevin MacLellan (McMaster)– 82 kg

Korey Jarvis (Guelph) def. Eric Feunekes (UNB)- 90 kg

David Zilberman (Concordia)– def. Charles Thoms (UNB) 90-130 kg

Men’s Bronze medal matches (winner defeated loser):

Dustin Helwig (Lakehead) def. Shujon Mazumder (U of T)- 54 kg

Jason Wass (Alberta) def. Dylan Bray (U Sask) – 57 kg

Stephen DeLayen (Concordia) def. Nick Rowe (Brock)– 61 kg

Scott Schillar (Concordia) def. John Cottril (Brock) – 65 kg

Brian Hutton (Calgary) def. Alex Kelly (U Sask) – 68 kg

Ben Sayah (UNB) def. Mattrix Fereirra (Brock)– 72 kg

Dene Ringette (U of T) def. Michael Noonan (Concordia) – 76 kg

Matt Miller (Concordia) def. Kevins Ens (Western) – 82 kg

Colten Woznow (Lakehead) def. Sean House (McMaster)- 90 kg

John Fitzgerald (Guelph) def. Dan Nwaerondu (Calgary)– 90-130 kg

Women’s Gold Medal matches (Winner defeated loser)

Jasmine Mian (Brock) def. Jade Papke (Guelph) – 48 kg

Diana Ford (Brock) def. Jennifer Nguyen (Western)-51 kg

Gen Haley (Calgary) def. Koren Pitkethly (U Sask)– 55 kg

Samantha Stewart (UNB) def. Marlen Figueroa (Alberta)– 59 kg

Nikita Chicoine (Concordia) def. Larissa D’Alleva (Western)– 63 kg

Allison Leslie (Guelph) def. Sabrina Kelly (Alberta)- 67 kg

Erica Wiebe (Calgary) def. Veronia Keefe (Concordia) – 72 kg

Leah Callahan (Calgary) def. Nicole Plummer (Lakehead)– 82 kg

Women’s Bronze Medal matches (winner defeated loser):

Haley Thomas (Alberta) def. Trisha Elliot (Regina) – 48 kg

Natasha Kramble (U Sask) def. Lydsay Almeida (Alberta) -51 kg

Victoria Ralph (MUN) def. Bethany Fuzzan (Alberta) – 55 kg

Kathleen Ken (U Sask) def. Aislynn Torfason (Lakehead) – 59 kg

Laura Steffler (Brock) def. Alison Sokalski (Alberta) – 63 kg

Elizabeth William (Concordia) def. Ruth Laing (Calgary)- 67 kg

Molly Bouchard (Alberta) def. Rebecca Levitt (Brock)- 72 kg

Alishiah Depass (Brock) def. Alysha Anderson (McMaster) – 82 kg

Previous articleReader says “This Pie is High in the Sky”
Next articleConfederation College Electronic Engineering Technician/Technology Programs receive National Accreditation or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862