Labour Council Releases List of “Endorsed Candidates


Thunder BayTHUNDER BAY – The President of the Thunder Bay and District Labour Council, Melanie Kelso says, “Thunder Bay should be proud that we have so many citizens and candidates that want to be part of our democratic process. This was shown by the attendance of all of the candidates and the public, at our all candidate forums, many attending all of the forums.

The Thunder Bay and District Labour Council has endorsed the following candidates for the upcoming municipal election.

Mayor-Keith Hobbs

Councillors At Large- Larry Hebert, Gerald Graham, Sharon Ostberg, Lawrence Timko.

Ward Councillors- Current River- Andrew Foulds, McIntyre- Terrance Yahn, McKellar- Paul Pugh, Neebing- Don Sinclair, Northwood- David Polhill, Red River- Jay Stapleton, Westfort- Joe Virdiramo.

English Public School Board- Marg Arnone, Pat Johansen, Lori Lukinuk, Jack Playford, George Saarinen, and Karen Wilson.

English Separate School Board- Eleanor Ashe, Don Cattani, Jeff Howie, Donna Mahoney, Kathy O’Brien, and Hanni Vale.

We will be distributing endorsement cards to our 10,000 members, starting October 4, 2010 until election day October 25, 2010,” shares Kelso.
The Labour Council thanks all of the candidates and the public for attending the successful forums we held September 13-16, 2010. The questions from the public to the candidates helped the Labour Council’s Political Action Committee’s selection of the candidate’s endorsement. The Labour Council looks forward to working with the 2011 City Council and respective School Boards.

Previous articleOntario’s housing affordability eroded – RBC
Next articleLakehead University Research Team To Study Palliative Care for First Nations or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862