Thunder Bay Chill Award Players


THUNDER BAY – The Thunder Bay Chill hosted their annual awards dinner last night, Wednesday, July 27th, at the Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel and Suites. The night featured a gala dinner, volunteer recognition, recap of the season, and individual player awards based on performance in the 2010 Premier Development League (PDL) regular season.

Joint Rookie of the Year honours were earned by defenders Sicelio Buthelezi and Zetroy Robertson, who helped back stop a defense that allowed only 12 goals in 16 games. Captain Wilson Neto took home the Best Defender award, and the team will look to him to continue his top form as they enter into the playoffs.

Brandon Swartzendruber was a lock for the teams Top Scorer Award, as he was also the top goal scorer for the entire PDL this season. Swartzendruber earned the PDL Scoring Champion (35 points) and Goal Scoring Champion (15) honours, while his partner up front, Gustavo Oliviera took home the title of PDL Assist Leader (13). This potent combination of offence earned the two forwards a share of the 2010 Thunder Bay Chill Regular Season MVP Award.

Summary of Team Awards

Rookie of the Year: Sicelio Buthelezi and Zetroy Robertson

Top Scorer: Brandon Swartzendruber (also PDL Scoring Champion and Goal Scoring Champion)

Best Defender: Wilson Neto

MVP: Brandon Swartzendruber and Gustavo Oliveira

Previous articleConstance Lake Seeks Help for Water Crisis
Next articleExpired Ontario Out of Doors Card Proves Expensive or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862