Northwestern Ontario Writers Honoured


THUNDER BAY – At its annual Literary Awards Party on May 15, the Northwestern Ontario Writers Workshop (NOWW) bestowed the following awards to recognize writing and literature in Northwestern Ontario.

The Elizabeth Kouhi Award was presented to Hazel Fulford. Given in honour of local poet Elizabeth Kouhi, this award recognizes a person whose portfolio of writing has made a significant contribution to the literature of northwestern Ontario. Hazel Fulford’s first book, When the Trains Stopped in Dinorwic, was published in 1990; her most recent, Wabigoon Burning and Other Stories, came out earlier this year.

The Sheila Burnford Award was presented to The Sleeping Giant Writers Festival. Given in honour of area novelist Sheila Burnford, this award recognizes individuals and organizations that support writing and literature. The Sleeping Giant Writers Festival, now celebrating its 7th year, brings premier Canadian writers to Thunder Bay for a weekend of readings and workshops. This year’s festival will be August 27, 28, and 29, at Fort William Historical Park.

This year marked the 12th year for NOWW’s annual writing contest, which generated more than 150 entries in five categories. The following winners were recognized on May 15.

Memoir: judged by Anne Coleman
1st: Elizabeth Campbell, Keewatin, “Bedrock”
2nd: Jim Foulds, Thunder Bay, “I Never Got to Work for My Father”
3rd: Bonnie Tittaferrante, Thunder Bay, “Frog and Snake”

Poetry: judged by Betsy Struthers
1st: Holly Haggarty, Thunder Bay, “Three Speech Acts”
2nd: Elizabeth Creith, Thessalon, “The Wheel of the Year—Four Sonnets”
3rd: Elizabeth Pszczolko, Nolalu, “Winter Bones”

Children’s Story: judged by Gordon Korman
1st: Judith Johansen, Fort Francis, “Picker’s Kid”
2nd: Eleanor Albanese, Thunder Bay, “Nonno’s Nickel”
3rd: Bonnie Tittaferrante, Thunder Bay, “The Amida Tree”

Flash Fiction: judged by Pasha Malla
1st: Elizabeth Creith, Thessalon, “Dark Chocolate”
2nd: Jack Shedden, Thunder Bay, “Dreaming in Black”
3rd: Sue Blott, Thunder Bay, “Stan, My Man”

Fiction: judged by Lynn Coady
1st: John Pringle, Atikokan, “Fresh Snow”
2nd: Roy Blomstrom, Thunder Bay, “Polly”
3rd: Roy Blomstrom, Thunder Bay, “Last Game of Hearts”

Previous articleForestry Tenure – “We see both of these initiatives as very progressive” – OFIA
Next articleLeader’s Ledger – Andrew Foulds or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862