Liberal Caucus United Against Violence


OTTAWA – Members of the Liberal caucus joined Liberal Leader Michael Ignatieff in condemning threats of violence against their colleague, Liberal MP Ujjal Dosanjh:

“We unequivocally condemn the threats of violence against our colleague Ujjal Dosanjh, and condemn all forms of extremism coming from any Canadian community.

Violence and extremism go against the core of our Canadian values of peace, inclusion and respect for one another.  Ujjal Dosanjh has taken a principled stand throughout his public life against violent intolerance.  Canada is a free country where citizens must be able to express their views without being subjected to threats.

We urge all Canadians to speak out against all forms of violence and extremism, and to affirm zero tolerance for threats of violence in our communities.

Ujjal, we stand united in support for you.”


Liberal Leader Michael Ignatieff, M.P., Scott Andrews, M.P., The Hon. Larry Bagnell, M.P., The Hon. Navdeep Bains, M.P., The Hon. Sen. George Baker, The Hon. Sen. Tommy Banks, The Hon. Mauril Belanger, M.P., The Hon. Carolyn Bennett, M.P., The Hon. Maurizio Bevilacqua, M.P., The Hon. Scott Brison, M.P., The Hon. Gerry Byrne, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Catherine Callbeck, The Hon. Sen. Larry W. Campbell, John Cannis, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Sharon Carstairs, The Hon. Sen. Maria Chaput, Siobhan Coady, M.P., The Hon. Denis Coderre, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Jane Cordy, The Hon. Irwin Cotler, M.P., The Hon. Sen. James S. Cowan, Bonnie Crombie, M.P., Rodger Cuzner, M.P., Jean-Claude D’Amours, M.P., LGen The Hon. Sen. Romeo Dallaire (Ret’d), The Hon. Sen. Dennis Dawson, Lt. Col. The Hon. Sen. Joseph A. Day, The Hon. Sen. Pierre De Bané, Sukh Dhaliwal, M.P., Ruby Dhalla, M.P., The Hon. Stephane Dion, M.P., The Hon.  Sen. Percy E. Downe, The Hon. Ken Dryden, M.P., Kirsty Duncan, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Lillian Eva Dyck, The Hon. Wayne Easter, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Art Eggleton, The Hon. Mark Eyking, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Joyce Fairbairn, Martha Hall Findlay, M.P., Raymonde Folco, M.P., Judy Foote, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Francis Fox, The Hon. Sen. Joan Fraser, The Hon. Hedy Fry, M.P., The Hon. Sen. George Furey, Marc Garneau, M.P., The Hon. Ralph Goodale, M.P., The Hon. Albina Guarnieri, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Mac Harb, The Hon. Sen. Céline Hervieux-Payette, Mark Holland, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Elizabeth Hubley, The Hon. Sen. Mobina S.B. Jaffer, The Hon. Marlene Jennings, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Serge Joyal, Andrew Kania, M.P., The Hon. Jim Karygiannis, M.P., Gerard Kennedy, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Colin Kenny, The Hon. Sen. Jean Lapointe, The Hon. Dominic Leblanc, M.P., Derek Lee, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Rose-Marie Losier-Cool, The Hon. Sen. Sandra Lovelace Nicholas, The Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Frank Mahovlich, The Hon. Gurbax Malhi, M.P., The Hon. Keith Martin, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Paul J. Massicotte, The Hon. John McCallum, M.P., David McGuinty, M.P., The Hon. John McKay, M.P., The Hon.  Dan McTeague, M.P., Alexandra Mendes, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Terry M. Mercer, The Hon. Sen. Pana Merchant, The Hon. Maria Minna, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Grant Mitchell, The Hon. Sen. Wilfred P. Moore, The Hon. Sen. Jim Munson, The Hon. Shawn Murphy, M.P., Brian Murphy, M.P., Joyce Murray, M.P., Anita Neville, M.P., Robert Oliphant, M.P., Massimo Pacetti, M.P., Bernard Patry, M.P., Glen Pearson, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Lucie Pépin, The Hon. Sen. Robert Peterson, The Hon. Sen. Marie-P (Charette) Poulin, The Hon. Sen. Vivienne Poy, Marcel Proulx, M.P., The Hon. Bob Rae, M.P., Yasmin Ratansi, M.P., The Hon. Geoff Regan, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Pierrette Ringuette, The Hon. Sen. Fernand Robichaud, Pablo Rodriguez, M.P., The Hon. Sen. William Rompkey, Anthony Rota, M.P., Todd Russell, M.P., Michael Savage, M.P., Francis Scarpaleggia, M.P., The Hon. Judy Sgro, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Nick G. Sibbeston, Mario Silva, M.P., Scott Simms, M.P., Michelle Simson, M.P., The Hon. Sen. David Smith, The Hon. Sen. Peter A. Stollery, Paul Szabo, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Claudette Tardif, Alan Tonks, M.P., Justin Trudeau, M.P., Frank Valeriote, M.P., The Hon. Joe Volpe, M.P., The Hon. Sen. Charlie Watt, The Hon. Bryon Wilfert, M.P., Borys Wrzesnewskyj, M.P., Lise Zarac, M.P., and The Hon. Sen. Rod A. A. Zimmer.
Editorial Note: Please feel free to add your support in the comments
Previous articleWhy Doesn’t Michael Ignatieff Get Rural Canada?
Next articleHighway 17 East and West To Be Refurbished or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862