Camelopardalids Lit the Night Sky

Camelopardalids will be visible across Northern Ontario
Camelopardalids will be visible across Northern Ontario

Night Sky will be Alive with Camelopardalids

THUNDER BAY – If lots of your friends are looking extra tired on Saturday morning, it might be they were up all night watching the sky.

Scientists anticipate a new meteor shower tonight: the May Camelopardalids, resulting from the dust of periodic comet 209P/LINEAR. No one has seen it before, but the shower could put on a prolific show. The shower is predicted to be active on May 24, 02:30 – 11:00 UTC (May 23, 10:30 p.m. to May 24, 7 a.m. EDT).

The peak is projected between 06:00 – 08:00 UTC (2-4 a.m EDT).

This will be a one-night-only event.

Camelopardalids will be visible across Northern Ontario
Camelopardalids will be visible across Northern Ontario

For viewers in Thunder Bay, the forecast is calling for partly cloudy skies.