NAN Congratulates 2017 Keewaywin Award Recipients

Nishnawbe Aski Grand Chief Alvin Fiddler leads the NAN Youth Council in a discussion folliwing the news that yet another Indigenous youth had committed suicide.
Nishnawbe Aski Grand Chief Alvin Fiddler with the NAN Youth Council

LAC SEUL FIRST NATION – Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) Grand Chief Alvin Fiddler, on behalf of the NAN Executive Council, congratulates recipients of the 2017 Keewaywin Awards for their outstanding accomplishments and contributions to our Nation.

“On behalf of the Chiefs and Councils of NAN I am honoured to congratulate this year’s award recipients for their outstanding achievements and commitment to improving the lives of others,” said NAN Grand Chief Alvin Fiddler. “Their accomplishments are the result of hard work and dedication, and the leadership they demonstrate on a daily basis is an inspiration to us all.”

Recipients were honoured at a banquet this evening during the XXXVI Keewaywin Conference, held August 8-10 in Lac Seul First Nation.

Award recipients include:

  • Emile Nakigee Award for Outstanding Leadership – Sheperd Wynne, Kashechewan First Nation
  • NAN Elder Award – Abe Kakepetum, Keewaywin First Nation
  • NAN Woman Award – Sheba Fox, Bearskin Lake First Nation
  • NAN Youth Leadership/Community Involvement Award – Latoya Pemmican, Deer Lake First Nation
  • NAN Youth Academic Award – Noah Kakekaspan, Fort Severn First Nation, and Riley Yesno, Eabametoong First Nation
  • NAN Youth Athletic Award – Keelan Meekis, Deer Lake First Nation
  • NAN Youth Cultural Award – Matilda Suqanaqueb, Webequie First Nation
  • NAN Staff Award – Melinda Meekis, Sachigo Lake First Nation
  • NAN Host Community Award – Lac Seul First Nation
Previous articleProtecting Indigenous Peoples’ Rights ‘is protecting everyone’s rights’ – UN
Next articleUnited States Officially Out of Paris Agreement on Climate or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862