Premier Wynne Shuffles Ontario Cabinet

Premier Wynne in Thunder Bay - stock image
Premier Wynne - stock image

QuEEN’S PARK – Minister Michael Gravelle is staying put at the Ministry of Northern Development and Mines, and Minister Bill Mauro has be shuffled to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs from the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry.

Premier Kathleen Wynne today announced changes to her cabinet that will help deliver on her government’s top priority to create economic growth and good jobs.

At the halfway mark of the government’s mandate, Premier Wynne has chosen a strong team to implement her government’s ambitious, activist agenda. The cabinet named today at Queen’s Park represents continuity in several key portfolios, ten ministers taking on new roles and seven new members.

Women now make up 40 per cent of cabinet, reflecting the Premier’s commitment to take steps toward gender parity. Women make up 50 per cent of the Priorities, Delivery and Growth cabinet committee, responsible for tracking government priorities and steering the government’s four-part economic plan.

Deb Matthews remains Deputy Premier and, as Minister of Advanced Education and Skills Development, will lead Ontario’s transition to a knowledge-based economy. Mitzie Hunter takes on the role of Minister of Education, preparing our youngest learners for success. Together, Matthews and Hunter will focus on building the highly skilled workforce that is key to Ontario’s future economic success.

Matthews also becomes Ontario’s first Minister Responsible for Digital Government. In this new role, she will help Ontario become a North American leader in accelerating how citizens engage and interact with government through the power of digital technology.

Charles Sousa remains Minister of Finance, continuing to focus on the strong fiscal management that is keeping the government on track to balance the budget next year, in 2017-18, while supporting critical public services. Liz Sandals becomes President of the Treasury Board, with a mandate to deliver on the government’s program spending objectives, as laid out in the annual Budget.

Indira Naidoo-Harris becomes Associate Minister of Finance responsible for the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan, designed to close the retirement savings gap for millions of workers.

Michael Chan will lead Ontario’s first stand-alone Ministry of International Trade, reflecting the province’s commitment to create jobs and growth through strong global trade partnerships.

Bob Chiarelli becomes Minister of Infrastructure. The Ministry of Infrastructure is now a stand-alone ministry, responsible for the implementation of the province’s historic $160 billion investment in roads, bridges, schools and hospitals. Dr. Eric Hoskins remains Minister of Health and Long-Term Care and will continue to implement Ontario’s Patients First: Action Plan for Health Care. Recognizing the integration of long-term care within the Action Plan, the Minister of Health and Long-Term Care will have full carriage of the province’s integrated health care system.

Glenn Thibeault becomes Minster of Energy, committed to building a safe, clean, reliable and affordable energy system.

Laura Albanese becomes Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, focusing on the province’s immigration strategy and refugee resettlement program.

The government’s economic plan is working. At the halfway mark of 2016, indicators and forecasts show that Ontario’s economy is continuing to grow and create jobs. Ontario’s economy is forecast to remain among the strongest in Canada. In 2015, the unemployment rate dipped to its lowest level since 2008. The minimum wage increased and average wages grew faster than inflation. The province attracted half of all venture capital in Canada.

Ontario high school graduation rates are now more than 85 per cent and postsecondary enrolment continues to climb.

Last year the province announced support for more than 325 infrastructure projects across all regions, which are helping to create good jobs. Year-over-year, the province continues to create jobs, most of which are full-time and in above-average wage industries.

The government’s four-part economic plan to build Ontario up and deliver on its number-one priority to grow the economy and create jobs includes investing in talent and skills, including helping more people get and create the jobs of the future by expanding access to high-quality college and university education. The plan is making the largest investment in public infrastructure in Ontario’s history and investing in a low-carbon economy driven by innovative, high-growth, export-oriented businesses. The plan is also helping working Ontarians achieve a more secure retirement.

Ontario Cabinet

Kathleen O’Day Wynne

Premier and President of the Council
Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs

Deborah Drake Matthews

Deputy Premier
Minister of Advanced Education and Skills Development
Chair of Cabinet
Minister Responsible for Digital Government

Michael John Gravelle

Minister of Northern Development and Mines

Brad Duguid

Minister of Economic Development and Growth

Jeff Leal

Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

David Michael Orazietti

Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services

Elizabeth Jean Sandals

President of the Treasury Board

David Zimmer

Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation

Michael Kwok Chi Chan

Minister of International Trade

Reza Moridi

Minister of Research, Innovation and Science

Yasir Naqvi

Attorney General
Government House Leader

Anthony Charles Sousa

Minister of Finance

Eric William Hoskins

Minister of Health and Long-Term Care

Glen Ronald Murray

Minister of the Environment and Climate Change

Bob Chiarelli

Minister of Infrastructure

Michael Joseph Coteau

Minister of Children and Youth Services
Minister Responsible for Anti-Racism

Tracy MacCharles

Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues
Minister Responsible for Accessibility

Kevin Daniel Flynn

Minister of Labour

William Joseph Mauro

Minister of Municipal Affairs

K. Helena Jaczek

Minister of Community and Social Services

Dipika Damerla

Minister Responsible for Seniors Affairs

Steven Alfonso Del Duca

Minister of Transportation

Mitzie Jacquelin Hunter

Minister of Education

Laura Albanese

Minister of Citizenship and Immigration

Christopher Stephen Ballard

Minister of Housing
Minister Responsible for the Poverty Reduction Strategy

Marie-France Lalonde

Minister of Government and Consumer Services
Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs

Kathryn McGarry

Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry

Mary Eleanor McMahon

Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport

Indira Naidoo-Harris

Associate Minister of Finance (Ontario Retirement Pension Plan)

Glenn Edward Thibeault

Minister of Energy

Steve Orsini – Secretary of the Cabinet, Head of the Ontario Public Service, and Clerk of the Executive Council

Previous articleFirst Wesley United Church Moves to TRC Action
Next articleHealthcare Spending in Alberta Unsustainable – Column or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but we are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862