NAN announces candidates for Grand Chief and Deputy Grand Chief elections


NANTHUNDER BAY – The nominations have closed for the Nishnawbe Aski Nation elections. Larry Amos, the Electoral Officer responsible for the August 2012 election for the Executive Council of Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN), has received and approved nomination papers from the following persons for the position of Grand Chief (1) and Deputy Grand Chief (3):

Candidates for Grand Chief

  • Lawrence Martin
  • David Neegan
  • Doug Semple
  • Harvey Yesno
  • Terry Waboose
  • Brian Davey
  • Mike Metatawabin


Candidates for Deputy Grand Chief

  • Goyce Kakegamic
  • Theresa Hall
  • Alvin Fiddler
  • Les Loutitt
  • Walter Naveau
  • Pierre Morriseau


According to the NAN Election Code an eligible candidate must be:

1. A status Indian.
2. A member of a recognized NAN First Nation.
3. 18 years of age at the time of the election.

Chiefs and proxies from NAN’s 49 First Nation communities will vote Wednesday, August 15, 2012 during the XXXI Keewaywin NAN Chiefs Assembly in Kashechewan First Nation. Elections are held in accordance with the NAN Election Code, which states that a candidate must obtain 50 per cent plus one of the votes cast to be elected.

The official campaign period will run from Tuesday, July 17, 2012 to Wednesday August 15, 2012.

Contact information provided by candidates including their biographies, campaign contacts, phone numbers and more information on the NAN Election Code is available at

Previous articleThunder Bay is continuing to move toward checking off items from the Strategic Plan
Next articleThe Michel Garant Challenge for Mira is now in full swing or NNL offers news, information, opinions and positive ideas for Thunder Bay, Ontario, Northwestern Ontario and the world. NNL covers a large region of Ontario, but are also widely read around the country and the world. To reach us by email: Reach the Newsroom: (807) 355-1862