Thunder Bay Kings Drop Opener at Telus Cup

Telus Cup Action

Kings goalie Jordan Smith is unable to get the right pad over in time as Calgary’s Carter Benoit (18) gets the Buffaloes on the scoreboard first at 4:14 of the first period.
Kings goalie Jordan Smith is unable to get the right pad over in time as Calgary’s Carter Benoit (18) gets the Buffaloes on the scoreboard first at 4:14 of the first period.

THUNDER BAY – SPORTS – It was not the start the Kings were hoping for, as they come up on the short end of a 7-4 scoreboard.

The Game 3 contest between the Calgary Buffaloes and the Thunder Bay Kings was a match that the referees will not soon forget. They doled out 20 penalties in the contest, including 5 double minors, 4 in the 3rdperiod alone, and all for hits to the head.

Kings were down 2-1 in the first, on goals by Carter Benoit and Braden Plaschewski (pp) and the lone Kings goal by Travis Hensrud (pp);

The score was 3-3 after 2 periods, with the lone Calgary goal courtesy of Jayden Grubbe and a pair by the Kings Christian Veneruzzo, and Nicholas Degrazia to draw the game even.

Then the lack of discipline the Buffaloes displayed in the 2nd, swung over to the Kings bench in the 3rdwhen Calgary scored 4 times on goals by Carter Benoit (2ndof the game), Jack Zayat (pp), Carter King, and Stephen Rosier (pp) with only a single response from the Kings Bryson Cataldo.

Outshot 46-26, the Kings, unfortunately, take one in the loss column to open the tournament, in what was certainly an entertaining contest for the well-attended match.

Photos and Files from Guy Gascoigne GASP.

Next games – Tuesday, April 23:

  • Cantonniers de Magog vs. Halifax Macs at 12 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. PT
  • Calgary Buffaloes vs. Toronto Young Nationals at 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT
  • Tisdale Trojans vs. Thunder Bay Kings at 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT

TSN and RDS, the official broadcast partners of Hockey Canada, will broadcast the gold medal game on April 28; please check local listings for details. All preliminary-round games, both semifinals and the bronze medal game will be available via live stream at HockeyCanada.ca.